We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
808 Kupulau Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in the Niu studio mid/late June on our first visit to Maui from the UK. This was selected on the basis of the superb reviews within Trip Advisor. This had given very high expectations but even these were exceeded. The studio itself was very well equipped and exceptionally comfortable. Whilst we didn’t cook there was an outdoor facility to do so, plus microwave & kettle within a well-equipped kitchen. Plenty of wardrobe / cupboard space for belongings.

A delicious breakfast was served on the Lanai, fresh fruit (a lot of it from the garden) plus some home- made bread / pastries – gave a great start to the day. Whilst eating breakfast was able to watch the great number of wild birds (including lovebirds and parakeets) flying in from a nearby palm tree.

A very warm welcome was given by Chuck and Susan who gave great advice with places to visit / eat. We had a tour of the garden and saw the various fruit trees that provided a lot of our breakfast. They are clearly proud of the garden and rightly so. Even one of the cats was very friendly and often came to say hello.

A wide range of equipment is available for borrowing eg chairs, surf boards, cool boxes. Every little detail seems to have been considered. A board containing lots of local information / what's on is regularly updated and use of the CD for driving the Road to Hana was invaluable.

It is about a 5 minute drive to the nearest beach, others taking longer. Do not though let that put you off.

Could not recommend more highly and will certainly hope to be able to return some day. Mahalo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
111
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Before we went to beautiful Maui we read many glowing reviews about this B&B here on TripAdvisor. After our visit we can only conclude that all these reviews were true: Hale Huanani is indeed perfect!

Our stay was in the "cottage". It is very quiet and private, the patio (where breakfast is served) as well. The bed is very comfortable, the kitchen contains all you need and there also is a large collection of good DVDs and BlueRays if you want to watch a movie. All the beach gear was also a big plus: chairs, snorkel sets, ice boxes, basically everything you might need on the beach is there for the guests. Those beaches are only a short 10-20 minute drive away btw (depends of course on the beach you choose to visit)

We were given the tour of the pretty garden by Chuck when we arrived, who immediately made us feel very welcome. He even served us a tasty mango fresh from the garden. You can also spot beautiful birds and lizards in the garden: this was indeed the paradise we expected Maui to be. Even the cat, Mike, was friendly and now and then came by to say hello and keep us company for a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in the Niu studio for 3 nights at the beginning of June during our tour around Hawaii and thought it was a truly wonderful B&B. Susan and Chuck, the owners, seem to have thought of everything, from the ‘things you may have forgotten’ basket in the bathroom to the regularly updated notice board of ‘interesting things going on in the area’. On arrival we were greeted by Chuck and found ourselves chatting for around an hour about all sorts of things – very entertaining. We were also shown around the gardens where they grow all sorts of fruits and it was really nice to watch the lovebirds and finches on the bird table outside our room.

The studio was a good size with an extremely comfortable bed and there was also a great shower in the bathroom, which are always the two big plus points for me. There are maps and guide books on hand if you need inspiration and a whole stack of towels and beach gear available for guests to borrow. The laundry facilities (in a separate utility area) were welcomed with it being mid-way through our trip. The unit had a small, well-appointed kitchen, though to be honest we didn’t really use it. The breakfast provided every day of fresh fruit and baked goods was delicious and Chuck always stopped by for a chat and to see if we needed any advice to make the most of our visit to the area. We never actually met Susan in person, but her homemade banana bread was fantastic and she was always really helpful in our email communications while booking.

The guesthouse is located in a small housing area away from the main tourist strip so you really need a car to get around, but surely that’s true of the whole island anyway? Consequently, our room was great value compared to the big shore-side resorts and chuck helped to recommend some great local (quieter) beaches in the area. We were made to feel really welcome here and would love to stay again in the future if we venture back to Maui.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartringen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The "Mai'a"-studio was the best accommodation during our 4-week travel on the hawaiian islands. We stood there for one week and were impressed by this perfect B&B. This studio was incredible good equipped, e.g. beach gear (towels,chair,body board, umbrella, ...), all necessary kitchen equipment is in a very good condition, even bathing articles were available. You can see that this studio is lovingly furnished with really top-quality equipment, just as you would do it for your own place. Also a lot of information material was on place (hiking trails, restaurant recommendations, maps etc.)
The breakfast was so yummy, every morning we had fresh fruits from the owners garden and delicious self-baked goods.
Chuck und Susan are great hosts. We really enjoyed the chats with both. They gave us really good tips and made our stay perfect.
We would always come back to this nice place. We recommend everybody to stay there. In our opinions it is the best place to stay on Maui and even on whole Hawaii!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Chuck and Susan are extremely accommodating and genial hosts. Chuck's restaurant recommendations are spot on and Susan's breakfasts are delicious. The cottage does not have air conditioning but there are several fans for great cross breeze ventilation, so there is no problem sleeping. There are several beaches and restaurants within 5 minutes. Beach chairs, umbrellas and coolers are all provided by the B & B. If you want to cook in, there is a gas grill. We cannot recommend Hale Huanani highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This wonderful place was truly a home away from home. We just got back from our stay at Hale Huanani B&B. Chuck and Susan were great hosts. Chuck greeted us when we arrived and proceeded to show us the room and gave us a brief intro of all they had available. The next morning, he took us on a tour of the amazing garden where many of the fruits come fresh from the garden. We left to stay in Hana for a night and while that was quite the adventure, it felt like coming home when we checked back into Hale Huanani for the last 2 nights of our vacation.

Chuck gave us great tips of the island, where to snorkel, a great restaurant to try, etc. and made us really feel at home. Susan made amazing baked goods every morning along with a great variety of fruits. We stayed in the Mai'a Studio and loved every bit of it. The room was spacious, the bathroom had a beautiful shower, they had a great selection of up to date movies, and the kitchen was fully stocked with plates, cups, utensils, and Tupperware. On top of getting the breakfast every morning, if we had plans to leave early, Chuck and Susan allowed us to pack up the breakfast for our daily adventures. And a plus, Mike (one of their cats) made us feel at home and allowed us to cuddle with a pet while we were missing ours at home.

This B&B was great for us as a couple, but would be great for anyone traveling to Maui for any reason. I still can't believe we were able to stay here for such an affordable price. Thank you Chuck and Susan again for a wonderful home away from home. Staying at your B&B was one of the best parts of our vacation.

Side note: For any LGBT travelers, this is the place to be. They made us feel completely comfortable staying here. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mai'a Studio and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in this lovely place Apri; 6,7, and 8, 2013. Every positive review written before this one is true. It was a pleasant and comforting place-within minutes of arrival (first timers in Hawaii) we saw 2 wild parrots and a cardinal land in the bird bath. Particularly appreciated the daily breakfast of fresh fruit and breads, the large supply of recent movies, guide books, bulletin board, full linen closet, the large jug of guava juice and the beautifully furnished clean and comfortable room and well equipped kitchen. Oh yes, the big bowl of macadamia nuts and crusher and a daily supply of bananas. Had no idea what to expect and this was a perfect start to 3 weeks on 3 islands-stayed in the suite called Nui studio (smallest) and it was very large.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

Address: 808 Kupulau Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in a very quiet, safe, residential neighborhood in south Maui where average rainfall is 12-1/2 inches per year. We are only a 5-minute drive to the closest beach (Keawakapu Beach) and a 5-minute drive to the most beautiful outdoor world-class shopping mall in Maui (The Shops at Wailea). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Huanani b&b
Hale Huanani Hotel Kihei
Hale Huanani Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.