We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
808 Kupulau Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Stayed here with my boyfriend on our first trip to Maui! It's on the south side near Wailea and Big Beach, my favorite. This was our first B&B experience and thank goodness it was a great one! We booked our stay for $83 a night for 5 days by e-mailing Susan from the Hale Huanani website. Lots of DVD's to fall asleep to, fresh fruits (tried starfruit for the first time) and baked breads/muffins (macadamia nut/banana bread, MmM). Kitchen with a sink, microwave and mini-fridge conveniently had milk and Hawaiian vacation drink of choice, POG (passion-orange-guava) juice. Will I stay at this B&B again if I ever go back to Maui? YES! Will I ever try another B&B? NO! Looking back now me and my boyfriend find that this could have been a nightmare exprience since you're technically a guest at a stranger's house. Your staying in a guest house attached to a main house that could possibly have peep holes, hidden cameras, etc. very big vulnerability factor. On a more positve note Hale Huanani is the best B&B in Maui in my opinion, for the price and because of the owner!

  • Liked — Felt at home.
  • Disliked — Not the most modern, luxurious place, still nice though.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
93
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

We said at the Hale Huanani for our honeymoon in October and rented one of the studios. The studio was a great size and had everything we needed. The refrigerator was stocked with milk and juice and the breakfast was great.

The location was also perfect. Its in a mainly residential area of Kihei away from all the noise. But its only a very short; less then 5 minute drive to the closest beach. Susan allowed us to use her beach equipment (towels, chairs, snorkeling, etc.) which came in handy.

Susan was a very good host, gave us a few tips on places to eat and beaches to visit. And not only did she have breakfest every morning, but she also laid out fresh Bananas, had Macadamia Nuts out to eat and also left us a bottle of wine. Plus the visits from her cats made missing our cats a little easier.

Overall, we couldn't ask for a better say, much better then any hotel we could have asked for but at a much much cheaper price. If we go back to Maui, we will definitely look up the Hale Huanani again.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

Susan has thought of everything! We were travelling with my adult niece, and the Vacation Ohana and Vacation Studio were a perfect combination. The accommodations are comfortable, attractively furnished, and spotlessly clean. Susan has provided all the little things that one might need, and although we came well-equipped, the hospitality of her preparations made us feel welcome. The beaches are a short drive away, and , as the website indicates, all beach equipment is provided, including chairs, boogie boards, coolers, mats, etc. In addition, the washer and dryer are a wonderful convenience.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

This is definately the place to stay. its a bargin and very comfortable. Props to susan in making our stay very very relaxing. Alot of shops and beach only few minutes from location

  • Liked — Location, price and service
  • Disliked — Wish They had more roooms ;P
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

This was my husbands and I first trip to Maui and was not sure about where to stay but after staying at one of the studios and then the ohana rental we will never stay anywhere else on Maui. I am very very paticular on staying at clean places and this exceeded my expectations, the hospitality from Susan was great she supplies all the beach equipment (towels,chairs,coolers etc) and upon arrival there was juice and milk in the fridge. It was not a bad location just a few driving minutes away from a great beach. The price for the ohana was very inexpensive at 105.00 a night. We were very happy and comfortable the entire stay.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

We stayed here for a week that included our 30th anniversary in May 2005. The flowers in the attached garden and the gardens in the neighborhood were breathtaking and took many many pictures of the grounds and flowers-my wife's hobby. Many of the pictures were enlarged and now decorate our home. Susan's breakfasts are still our tradition for an easy morning wake-up (fresh baked breads and muffins with fresh fruit.) We enjoyed many hours of relaxation on the patio (which was as big as the cottage). The plumeria blossoms strongly fragranced every room in the cottage. Our own garage was a blessing too. Our hosts were attentive, respected our privacy, gave excellent suggestions for meals around town, and took care of every concern immediately. Because the best beach is about 1 1/2 miles away, we spent alot of time there and quickly learned why life stops on Maui for the breathtaking sunsets. Although we love to travel, our Hawaian vacation at Hale Huanani's cottage over a year and a half ago was by far our best!!!!!

  • Liked — the privacy, size of accomodations
  • Disliked — loved every aspect of staying here
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

Great bed and breakfast - provided breakfast, cable TV, and AC. Plenty of room and a very comfortable couch. We loved the location as it was close to numerous beaches and wonderful restaurants. You have to go to Nick's Fishmarket! Absolutely wonderful. Met with the owner and she was very nice, overall it was a great stay for a great price!!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

Address: 808 Kupulau Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in a very quiet, safe, residential neighborhood in south Maui where average rainfall is 12-1/2 inches per year. We are only a 5-minute drive to the closest beach (Keawakapu Beach) and a 5-minute drive to the most beautiful outdoor world-class shopping mall in Maui (The Shops at Wailea). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Huanani b&b
Hale Huanani Hotel Kihei
Hale Huanani Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list