We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for divers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
808 Kupulau Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice for divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed in the cottage for most of our stay, moving to one of the studios the last night. (We had rented fairly last minute, so that's what was available.) It worked out perfectly for us. The cottage was great - very comfortable and spacious. And it came with an optional kitty, which my husband loved. The breakfasts were delicious. The cottage is setup great for divers (not intentionally, I don't believe). You can back into the driveway to unload gear. Right there is a large outdoor laundry tub, which makes a great dunk tank. And there was plenty of line to hang gear to dry and shelves to store it on. Very peaceful setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
111
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This modestly priced B&B satisfied all our needs. The owner/cook/tour guide, Susan, was very friendly and helpful...she provided a large, delicious, freshly cooked breakfast each morning. Lots of equipment--like snorkeling gear, boogie boards, chairs and beach towels--were available, and the washer/dryer were very useful. We stayed in the Manako Cottage (the upstairs apartments were being refurbed and were not available), which was roomy, private and very quiet...except for the large variety of birds, which provide very pleasant birdsong most of the day. There's no A/C but the overhead fan in the bedroom was fine. No ocean view, which is not a big deal to us. Driving time to the beaches only a few minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the cottage for a week. Everything was outstanding! The breakfast in the morning was very good. The bread that was made fresh daily was extremely good! What was really nice with this BB was you got the feeling that you were a local. We first got in on Wednesday afternoon and went straight to the house. After getting settled in we just took it easy that afternoon. It was not until the next morning we went into Kihei to go to the beach and we relized that we avoided all the tourist!! Which was really nice for us, plus it is super quite!! Unless you don't like listening to the birds in the morning, this place is a must!!

Susan took the time to sit down with us when we first got there and showed us the island on a map. Gave us ideas for do's and don'ts and gave us ideas for shopping and eating. The cottage was extremely clean and organized. Coming from Phoenix, AZ, not having AC was a little stressful before we got there. But after the first night, it was no big deal. The wind stays steady and keeps the cottage comfortable. For the cost of this place vs other places in Kihei you are getting a great deal!!

The owners really make sure you are taken care and respect your privacy too. Overall, I would reccommend this to anyone going to Kihei that wants privacy and a nice place to stay. We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Hale Huanani from 2/27 to 3/2. We stayed in the Niu Suite and everything was great. Very quiet for sleeping, very spacious with combination sleeping and living area. Good ventilation and fans (no air conditioning which is normal as electric kwh is very expensive). Great shower in bathroom, full closet with tons of extra towels including stuff for the beach. Good size refrigerator in kitchen and had a microwave, sink, plenty of dishes. Fresh fruit and a baked Hawaiian bread for muffins were placed on the patio each morning at 7 am. They were yummy. A basket full of macadamia nuts and a nut cracker treated us with fresh nuts when we needed a snack. You need a car here, you are about 1.5 miles up the hill from Wailea village. Best snorkeling is down in Makena - not sandy beaches there but you can get in off the lava without getting hurt and there are turtles and great fish. Susan has chairs, mats, boogie boards, coolers so you don't have to bring that stuff from home. We had happy hour at the Fairmont one night - great sunset and whale view. This B&B is really a value - I told Susan that I thought she was not charging enough for what she was delivering. I walked in the morning in the Maui Meadows neighborhood and it was very safe and everyone I passed said hello. Susan gave us her ideas for what not to miss on the island, where to snorkel and where to eat. Also we just chatted about other stuff as well and she is very approachable and an outstanding hostess. We ate at da Kitchen in Kihei and Five Palms in Kihei, both very good. Did an early bike trip out of Haleakala but did not see sunrise due to cloud cover. Did a whale watch out of Lahaina and had great whale sitings. Spent 4 nights in Molokai and that was a whole other story - very worthwhile to go over there but it is a place stopped in time about 50 years ago. All in all, a great value stay - we have always stayed in the Wailea resorts but those are so expensive and you pay extra for every single thing plus the resort fees and taxes. The only thing we missed was the ocean view but we had plenty of that in what we did on the island so it was worth it to save the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed 2 separate times for a total of a week- read the reviews they are spot on!
First off, there are 3 separate units, 2 which share a common wall, kitchenette/ bath wall. During our stay there were 3 different guests staying in the shared wall unit and we never heard any of them. We are early birds and if the sun was shining in Hawaii we wanted to be viewing it. We were never awoken with any outside noise, and we tried to be considerate and quiet for those sleeping in. There was a small amount of scuffling upstairs, but nothing obtrusive. This place is simply well done!. We chose the nui studio it had a king bed. We preferred the layout of the mai 'a studio but it only had a queen bed. That studio was on the end wall and had a private little table with 2 chairs which would give you a little more privacy,and the bigger table and chairs outside that the other unit also had. I also got to sneak a peek at the cottage in between rentals and it offers quite a bit more privacy if that is what you are looking for, but also has a queen bed.
Susan is the most gracious hostess, our first stay we only seen her for a few minutes, and she was a wonderful tour guide, she pointed us in the direction of all the best beaches, etc. When we first arrived we were greeted by Chuck, Susans husband. He also was very gracious and gave us a tour of their gardens which if you want to just sit in solitude and enjoy are perfect. There breakfast was great, with fresh baked muffins or breads and fresh cut in season fruits. juice and Maui coffee along with other "special" treats were also supplied. They have macadamia nut trees on the property so it seemed like an unending supply of mac nuts and a nut cracker were supplied.
The place offered all kinds of high quality beach gear, multiple sized hard sided coolers, beach bags; boogie boards and tommy bahama beach chairs which have the back pack straps so you can just toss it on your back and where it to the beach, beach mats and a large amount of regular bath and beach towels were supplied.
There is also a lovely laundry room which we were welcome to use.
The place sits a little higher in elevation up the hillside, which makes for very nice evening breezes. We felt extremely safe at all times while staying here. We were aprox 5-10 minutes from some really great beaches. If you are looking for beachfront this is not it, no views of the ocean but the place cannot be beat. You will be hard pressed to find a better value in Maui. If we get back to Maui and this place is available we will be staying here. Thank you so much Susan for your little slice of paradise.

Room Tip: Quite possibly the best value on Maui, shucks, there goes any availability!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This B&B features two ground floor suites that are side-by-side and share an outside patio (each suite has its own patio table & chairs). The suites are separated by a thin wall and wooden door (so the two could be joined by two couples or a family). This means that you can hear virtually every sound from the next suite. We were fortunate to have very nice guests in the next door suite, but we still heard them. Just normal sounds like conversation, etc. can be heard. The other noise factor is that the host family lives above. You can hear the thumping of footsteps & other noises. While this ceased pretty well every evening by 9:30 pm, it did start up as early as 6:15 am on weekday mornings.
So if you are seeking privacy as in having your own patio, or are sensitive to noise, this B&B may pose a problem for you.
It is otherwise a nice place - clean, breakfast was fresh fruit & homemade banana bread or muffins & a good neighbourhood, close to both Kihea & Wailua's attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed here from 1/28-2/4 in the Niu studio. I can not believe how beautiful, spacious, and clean this B&B is. The room has everything you need in it- bigger fridge (not a mini one- woohoo), new DVDs, cable, beach towels, beach items, and more. I am a neat freak and this place surpassed my expectations- especially for the price! The furniture and art are classy and new and the shower is huge and tiled. The location is perfect- less than 5 minutes to Wailea beaches and a few more minutes to the Kihei beaches. We will definitely be staying here every time we visit Maui and will tell everyone we know about this place. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Niu studio has a King bed (two twins pushed together) and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast

Address: 808 Kupulau Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in a very quiet, safe, residential neighborhood in south Maui where average rainfall is 12-1/2 inches per year. We are only a 5-minute drive to the closest beach (Keawakapu Beach) and a 5-minute drive to the most beautiful outdoor world-class shopping mall in Maui (The Shops at Wailea). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Huanani b&b
Hale Huanani Hotel Kihei
Hale Huanani Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.