We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent kayak and snorkel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Eco Tours

Maui Eco Tours
PO Box 1965, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-891-2223
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #38 of 83 activities in Kihei
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Exclusive kayak snorkel tours in Maui. Come join us and see turtles, dolphins and whales in a private, small group setting.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent kayak and snorkel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I wanted to kayak and snorkel while in Maui, and after searching online, decided to book with Maui Eco tours - they provided both kayaking and snorkeling all in one trip. This company books with a smaller group so the experience is more personal; including the guide, there were only five in the group the day I went. The guide was very helpful and knowledgeable, even pointed out which islands we were looking at. If you haven't snorkeled or kayaked before, the guide gives a quick, yet informative, teaching before you head out into the ocean.You get to enjoy kayaking into the ocean, and snorkeling right off your kayak. We snorkeled at two spots - even got to see about 8-10 turtles too! Highly recommended activity to do when visiting Maui. The whole trip was about 3 hrs total.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    15
    9
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
truckee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great kayak experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

first time in ocean kayak. great experience with a group. we were more focused on whale watching and some of the group was more interested in snorkeling. Did get a good whale experience. Felt very comfortable & safe in kayak. Even with the wind that day had great control over kayak. Wish i had e-mail addresses of all our group. am attaching some shots taken!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great way to get close to the whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

In past years, we'd always gone out on whale watching trips on large boats full of tons of people. We wanted to have a smaller, intimate, quiet, ecologically-friendly experience this time, so we chose Maui EcoTours Whale Kayaking tour. We have a 9-year-old and a 14-year-old, and we are all beginners, so this seemed like a good option for us. On the morning of our tour, the weather was not cooperating in Makena, so we were rescheduled for two days later. Unfortunately, the weather decided to be uncooperative AGAIN and we were forced to reschedule one more time. Luckily we'd scheduled the original date for early in our trip and this left plenty of room to move dates around if needed. Third times a charm, because day three ended up being absolutely beautiful and calm.

Our guide, Chris, was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. He explained everything we needed to know to have a safe, successful, and fun trip in an easy-to-understand yet not-at-all-condescending way. He provided a lot of very interesting information about the geological history of Maui and the surrounding islands, and knew an awful lot about the humpback whales we were there to try to see. After multiple trips in the past with cheesy tour guides who are constantly cracking jokes and acting as patronizingly nice to you as possible to try to earn a good tip, it was refreshing to have Chris' straightforward, genuinely friendly attitude.

Immediately after we all left the beach in our kayaks (a total of four kayaks, plus Chris'), we spotted some whales spouting and Chris didn't hesitate to get us going in that direction. Our main reason for going kayaking was to get close to the whales, and I was a little worried that the tour would seem hurried, but once we got within a "legal" distance to where we'd last seen the spouting, Chris had us stop and was incredibly patient while we all sat quietly and waited--about 15 minutes--until the whales (3 large males) surfaced again. When they appeared, they were within about 30 yards of the kayaks, and the sound of them breathing through their blowholes at that range was indescribably magical. It literally took my breath away. Once they dove back under, Chris didn't rush us off to the next spot, but instead allowed us to hang out and patiently wait for them to surface again.

After moving on to the next group of whales and repeating the same patient waiting as before, we kayaked back towards shore and did some snorkeling around some rocks that are notorious for having lots of green sea turtles, and we were not disappointed. We saw at least 5-6 turtles, some resting on the bottom, others swimming around and periodically surfacing for air. Then it was back to the beach where we'd departed from for a quick snack of granola bars and juice.

Overall, we thought this was a great way to experience the whales (and natural beauty) around south Maui. If you are looking for something that doesn't include a lot of other people and is quiet and relaxing, I would highly recommend Maui EcoTours kayaking trips. If you are more into the crowds and the jokes and the beer and snacks that you can get on the bigger boats, then maybe this isn't your thing. I, however, cannot wait to go kayaking again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seacliffs tour with Kelly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was a fantastic tour! It was my first time ocean kayaking, but Kelly is so patient and knowledgeable, that he made it as easy as possible on our group. You use sea kayaks for two people, which is nice because portions of the trip are very choppy and it's helpful to have another person helping you get through. We ended up seeing many whales - some were so close, we were actually frightened for a bit until we got out of their way! Because we spent so much time whale watching, we only ended up snorkeling in one location, but I didn't mind because the snorkeling still ended up being great. Kelly tells you what fish you're seeing and we even ended up swimming with a sea turtle. If you love being on the water, this is such a great trip and Kelly is a great guide to lead you. This trip ended up being the highlight of our time in Maui - highly recommend!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The tour being reviewed is the short discovery kayak tour. Couldabeen better !

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Eco Tours also viewed

 

Been to Maui Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Eco Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maui Eco Tours to your Saves list