We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An important location and cause” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale Sanctuary Visitor Center

Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale Sanctuary Visitor Center
726 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 301-713-7252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 Attractions in Kihei
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Kihei on the south shore of Maui, the visitor center is an ideal spot to learn about the marine environment and even see humpback whales breaching. This scenic beachfront location at the foot of Haleakala has views of Kaho'olawe, Lana'i and West Maui looking across the waters of the sanctuary. Visitors to the new center inKihei will be able to learn about the efforts by NOAA, the State of Hawaii, and others to protect humpback whales, monk seals, sea turtles, and coral reefs.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An important location and cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

My wife and I spent about 30 minutes here learning about the sanctuary. The attendant was very helpful. We didn't see any whales from the visitor center, but they have a viewing deck to the humpback whale "nursery" bay, so others will be more lucky. Thank goodness for the National Marine Sanctuaries!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not much here, but pleasant view ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This is a very small information center. The guides are friendly and helpful and the exhibits are professional. It is good for young children, but there is not much for teens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting Information and Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This place is definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. It's not huge, but they have very nice exhibits about the ocean life in Hawaii. I didn't go with kids, but I cod see kids loving it since they have a separate area set up with activities for children. The videos were also interesting and informative, and on top of all that it's a beautiful place in which to escape the heat and still have a great view of the ocean and beach.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Story of the Kōʻieʻie Fishpond Restoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Please honor and take notice of the sacred fishponds located in the waters just behind the sanctuary! What an amazing restoration of the ancient fishponds! We wish to thank Vene for sharing his story with us! What an honor to have spent such time with you learning about this sacred place. His personal guided tour of these sacred waters will be treasured forever! We wish you many blessings as you share and honor your culture and family! Mahalo!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna,b.c. canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Humpback whale info centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Small informal info centre on the ocean side of Kihei rd. I think it is very well done, have been to ita few times over the years. Worth a little trip to see. I think most of the staff are volunteers and are very dedicated to the cause of educating people about the humpback whales.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale Sanctuary Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale Sanctuary Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale Sanctuary Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.