We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home, private and personal tour guide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Homestay B&B

Save Saved
You added Maui Homestay B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maui Homestay B&B
2838 Umalu Place, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“home away from home, private and personal tour guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you want some privacy in a perfect location, choose this place. It's a quaint b n b with just 2 rooms so you won't see a constant influx of people. In fact for 6 days we felt like it was our own place. The room was clean, lots of guide books and it's self catered although we didn't use the latter-it's handy to have if you feel like a late night snack! The owner, Tom and his wife are extremely accommodating and breakfast on the deck in his stunning garden with a distant view of the ocean are a real treat whilst you try to acclimatise. Kellei (I hope I spelt that correctly) is a welcomed addition at breakfast. Furthermore breakfast usually ended in a a discussion about best places to go on our day out, recommended restaurants and how to avoid scams (which are few and far between). Didn't need the Lonely Planet guidebook after all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corte Madera, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband grew up in the Islands, and we don't get back as often as we'd like. This time we managed a six day trip, but were going to have to telecommute the four days around the weekend. At Maui Homestay, we felt like we really were "working from home." They have high-speed internet, which enabled us to get a days work done by noon (Hawaii time) and then go play for the rest of the day. We'd take a mid-morning break to go up for a wonderful breakfast of home grown fruit, freshly baked bread, coffee, juice, and something delicious using eggs. The apartment is stocked with everything you could need, including shampoo, ear swabs, three kinds of sunscreen, ground coffee and filters, bottled water to start off with... just like home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 5 nights there and they were fabulous! It's a really nice place. Breakfast is delicious and Tom makes you feel like home. Everything was clean and it's pretty near to the beach. I definetely recommend this place for everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Maui Homestay for three nights and loved every minute. Tom and Akiko were very welcoming and made us feel truly at home. Our room was cool, comfortable, clean and spacious, more like a small apartment with bedroom, bathroom, lounge/kitchen area and a shady private lanai. Plenty of guidebooks to browse, wifi and beach kit to borrow - cooler/mats/plenty of towels etc. Great location in a residential area only a stone's throw from the beach and the restaurants/shops of Kihei. Breakfast was upstairs on a lanai with ocean views and was a great spread, Tom was very flexible with timing and would happily sort out a packed brekkie if you had plans to head out super early on a day trip. Towards the end of breakfast Tom would be around with a wealth of knowledge and suggestions to help plan your day. On his recommendation we went early to a local beach for some snorkelling and stumbled across a massive beautiful green turtle. Another day we wanted to explore the road to Hana and he suggested driving the route the opposite way around to most of the guidebooks which really made the day for us. The scenery on the southern (less inhabited) part of the island is stunning and I really think we would have missed out had we driven the 'normal' way around as we would probably have run out of daylight to see this part properly! I very much hope to return one day and would wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here twice (2 nights and 2 nights) and each time was wonderful. Tom is great and so easy going. The rooms are clean and have everything you need: beach towels, coolers for the beach or Hana, a kitchenette with range and fridge, and great breakfasts. I told my wife that staying with Tom is like staying with friends who live here. They make great breakfast and have everything you need for your stay. And since Tom has lived in Maui for 20+ years he has great tips and reccomedations. The b&b is walking distance to the beach and very close to downtown kihei. It was great and so welcoming. We definetly would stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights and absolutely loved our ohana-style room! There's a full kitchen, beautiful living area, huge bedroom & bath, and I truly felt like we were staying at a good friend's house! Tom is eager to please and makes a killer breakfast with delicious fresh breads, fruit, cereals, eggs, juices, etc. We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount pleasant, sc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I hesitate somewhat to give this a top rating but the location cannot be beaten. This is located just blocks from restaurants, snorkeling, and awesome sunsets. Tom is very helpful providing a tasty breakfast. Just communicate what you want and he goes out of his way to accommodate. We like to snorkel in the early morning and having a set time is not convenient. Tom knew we were from the east coast (6 hours difference) and was nice enough to provide breakfast items the evening before so we could just enjoy our mornings. Our unit was very clean and relatively spacious with a private deck to enjoy our meals. All of this for 100 bucks on Maui makes this a winner!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Homestay B&B

Also Known As:
Maui Homestay B&B Kihei
Address: 2838 Umalu Place, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maui Homestay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Homestay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.