We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarento's on the Beach - Maui

Sarento's on the Beach - Maui
2980 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8688
808-875-7555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sarento's on the Beach - Maui is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 143 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kilohana Drive
Description: Sarento's is nestled on one of Maui's premier beaches overlooking the islands of Molokini, Kaho'olawe & Lana'i, providing guests with unsurpassed romantic ocean view. Italian-style warmth & hospitality are part of the atmosphere that makes this fine dining establishment one of Hawaii's most celebrated. The superior service, coupled with the outstanding culinary offerings makes Sarento's a place where memories are created. Superb, five-star regional Italian cuisine with a Mediterranean flair. Specialties include award-winning presentations of homemade pastas, fresh Hawaiian seafood, prime steaks, signature veal, lamb, chicken & pork dishes. Creative preparations of classic Italian desserts are enough to make a grown man cry. The main wine cellar offers over 75 domestic & imported wines ranging in price from $20 - $1,000. One of the most respected collections of wines in Hawaii, contains over 1,500 bottles from France, Germany, California with a focus on rare Italian wines.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The food is pretty good and happy hour goes to 6:30. Dining here is like dining on the beach, what a beautiful view.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    145
    87
    57
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New favorite breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Latest trip to Maui we stayed a couple nights at the Days Inn (mainly because it was free) and ate breakfast at Sarento's which right next to the motel.

If you arrive by 7:30am at the latest, you're pretty much guaranteed to be able to sit at a table next to the beach rail. This gives you a fantastic view of the beach and is great for watching all the beach and ocean activities while enjoying a nice breakfast.

My usual Maui breakfast is the Loco Moco. The Loco Moco at Sarento's is a bit different in that they use meatloaf instead of a hamburger patty. They also use Spanish rice rather than white rice and their brown gravy also includes mushrooms. So a bit different than some other places, but it was great!

I definitely plan on returning here a couple times during any future visits to Kihei.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The beach location provides a pleasant ambiance, but that is the only positive comment I can offer. My lamb entree was tough and overcooked with minimal flavor. My wife had the tiger shrimp with pasta. The shrimp was fine but the pasta was mushy with an excessive amount of oil which made the entire dish too heavy. While the service was generally acceptable, the team concept makes it difficult to develop a rapport with your primary server who in our case disappeared after the main course arrived. To be fair, this is the only time we have been to Sarento's so perhaps another visit would produce a better experience. However, given the prices here, the incentive to return is greatly diminished.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This restaurant is simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our last night in Maui was wonderful. Our visit to Sarento's started off with the hostess asking if this was a special occasion. We told her it was a celebration of two of our sons graduating from college. We were seated at the best table which happened to be Brian Urlachers table. Being from New Mexico ourselves it was cool to get his table. The wait staff is beyond amazing. Each one was attentive and so much fun to talk to! The waiter was top notch and the food was perfect! I simply cannot say one bad thing about Sarento's on the Beach!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Ocean View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast is great here. The service and food are better than expected. We came in Feb. and watched whales while we were eating breakfast. Plan extra time after breakfast take a walk on the beach. We didn't have time for dinner here this trip, but we ate 6 breakfasts here. We walked each day 1 mile there and back. Sarento's gets 5 stars in our book. We think this is a must eat here place.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarento's on the Beach - Maui also viewed

 

Been to Sarento's on the Beach - Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarento's on the Beach - Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.