We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pupu Lounge Seafood & Grill

Pupu Lounge Seafood & Grill
1945 S Kihei Rd Ste C-d, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7836
(808) 875-4111
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 146 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Beverly Hills, MI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Food was good but I thought a little pricey, especially drinks. I would go back, though. It was a fun place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    71
    41
    38
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unethical Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I visited Maui on our honeymoon and stopped in at PuPu's for lunch. We were drawn to its casual looking patio across from the beach. The server informed us that the special was fish and chips, which sounded great. We were told it was freshly caught Walu, a light whitefish. The food arrived and tasted good.
Fast forward to my poor wife and I both in pain with stomach cramps and diarrhea. We Googled Walu and found that it's banned in Japan and Italy, and sold in Canada with a warning on the label. It causes gastrointestinal problems including orange colored diarrhea etc.
There was no warning from the server, or disclaimer in the menu. Furthermore we found reviews on Yelp and travel advisor from PuPu's dating back to 2009 which stated similar "PuPu" problems.
It's ridiculous that a business in the hospitality industry could be run so foolishly. Don't eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

They are an older place, and a little grungy - so we were not expecting much. But were pleasantly surprised cos the food was fabulous! We got the catch of the day (macadamia encrusted swordfish) and it was just delicious...... They made it fresh, it was light and very flavorful. Well priced and good service. Went for lunch but it would be nice to go for a sunset dinner as well. They have a wonderful and well priced kids menu as well.

The inside is a little older and not as appealing, but it was lovely to sit on the deck. We had a great meal. Not enough time on our trip to go back, but we were jealous when our friends texted us to say they were enjoyed sunset drinks at pupus!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice macadamia nut crusted fish plate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Fish was good, patio kind of small, nice wait staff, prob wouldn't go back. The bar area needs some work. Felt like walking into a dirty bar in an old nasty town. Just my opinion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Went looking for the elusive pupu platter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We must've went all over Maui looking for a pupu platter or just a shrimp cocktail to no avail. Then we happened on this place. The first time we went, it was closed even though it was after eleven. They did open eventually, but we had already decided to try somewhere else. The second time we came, we made sure to go an hour after the posted opening time. We of course ordered the pupu platter. It didn't not come on the hibachi grill as listed, but everything named seemed to be there (it was hard to tell). The grilled chicken was the best part of the entire platter. I will leave it at that. The waitress did offer us walu fish, but after reading several reviews on yelp, we decided against it since we were flying out that night. I don't think we will be back, but I hope others continue to have better experiences.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pupu Lounge Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pupu Lounge Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pupu Lounge Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.