We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NY Style Pizza on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaka Sandwich & Pizza

Shaka Sandwich & Pizza
1770 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8215
(808) 874-0331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best NY Style Pizza on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just had Shaka pizza after a year and a half since last trip here... It's the best casual NY style pizza on Maui. Large pie is the full NY SIZE large. Crust is very good, sauce and cheese good too. Nothing fancy, but hey - it's a casual place. You can eat in, or they deliver. The girl behind the counter was friendly, it's clean, outside or Inside tables. They offer lots of good toppings, parking in the back. Always a smart meal option to save some bucks in Kihei !d

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    64
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After over a week of sit-down restaurants and high prices, we were ready for a layed back pizza night and Shaka did not disappoint! This pizza was recommended by a local woman we talked to and was close to our hotel in Wailea. We ordered at the counter and sat at covered picnic tables outside while watching videos of surfing championships. The pizza was huge and absolutely delicious. Our entire meal for a family of 4 was about $35 including drinks. We would highly recommend this and will return on our next Hawaii trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great local pizza joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really inexpensive meal option. Our family if 4 ate dinner for $30 with leftovers! The pizza is delicious and the place was full of locals. Counter service with cool outdoor dining. The place was clean, the service good, price fair and food dee-lish! Be sure to go and grab a take out menu if you're stayin in the Kiehi area because they deliver!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hands down, this is the best place in Kihei for pizza!! They make it all fresh right in front of you and you can enjoy it by the slice of take an entire one.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Hang loose!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

First night after landing and we needed food. Decided on pizza and saw Shaka as we were driving down the road.

Their pizza is very good. The crust was perfect, sauce, cheese and toppings were well balanced. Its NY style and probably close to the best there is outside of NY. They only have one size and its big. But its so good that its guaranteed to be consumed.

Service was fine. Its counter service and open seating.

The place was clean and tidy.

We'll definitely be going there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaka Sandwich & Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Shaka Sandwich & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaka Sandwich & Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.