We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koiso Sushi Bar

Koiso Sushi Bar
2395 S Kihei Rd Ste 113, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8635
(808) 875-8258
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

By far the best sushi my husband and I have every had the fortune of eating. Koisi is a little hole-in-the-wall at the corner of a strip mall and the ambiance is utilitarian at best. However, once you sit down, say hello to the owner/sushi master and put in our order all of that becomes irrelevant. We asked the owner to make us whatever he felt was best, and we were each presented with a platter with twelve different and generous pieces of nigiri sushi. The rice was perfectly seasoned and the fish was fresh, tender and oh-so delicious. Everything was so good we ordered a salmon skin roll (one of our favorites at home) and was also delicious here. One warning – be sure to make a reservation. The place is small and we saw three parties without reservations get turned away because of lack of space. People who say Koiso is expensive have a point, but I think they’re missing the forest for the trees. Yes, by the piece this sushi was more expensive than what I’m accustomed to, but the quality was superior, the fish was probably swimming in the ocean the previous morning, and it was made by a genuine sushi master. In fact our bill came to less than I was expecting and we left having eaten an amazing meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    33
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Just GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The BEST sushi - that's why you are here. Forget the atmosphere, because this is a dive place in a divey strip mall. It is difficult to find so go to the complete end of the shops and walk in the center to find the place. Be sure to book in advance as they will not accept walk-ins. Also, be sure to specify if you want single, double etc orders of sushi, sashimi or you'll be shocked when you get the bill. Koiso is fresh, delicious and worth the price.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Freshest sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We saw this place on Tripadvisor and made the reservation a couple of weeks ahead. This is a small 16 seater in a local shopping mall and very unassuming. The owner/chef was really nice and greeted us right away. The waitress, we assume was his wife, was a little overwhelmed when we were first seated. We all ordered the chef's choice Omakase sushi which included one of each of the sushi on the board except the oyster and giant clam. He made sure our teens are ok with wasabi in the sushi before starting. It was a treat sitting there watching this sushi master at work. Before long, our food was ready. The pieces looked so nicely crafted and of decent size. We also ordered some oysters because we wanted to try them after seeing other customers devouring them. Also got another serving of sweet shrimp that had just come in that morning from Molokai! Everything was so fresh and delicious! Total bill for the 4 Omakase, extra oysters and extra shrimp adding a small sake and a small beer came to ~$200! That's unbelievable for Omakase especially in Hawaii! We will need come back to Maui soon just to eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Vacation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went here when they had no customers he asked me if he could help me i said i was just lookin and they told me I had to make reservations for sushi? Really?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Sushi is fresh and portions are average. If you are a big eater then you will want to double your orders. Really small and you will definitely need reservations at least a week in advance. Don't expect to just be able to walk in and get served. Not ideal for large parties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koiso Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Koiso Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koiso Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.