We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Thai Bistro

Maui Thai Bistro
2439 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7283
(808) 874-5605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maui Thai Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 146 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Above expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We'd heard that the service was a bit slow. Not true. Our waitress Supanpan was lovely and accomodating. When we saw them setting up tables for 12 and 8 next to us we thought we were in for a long wait. Nope. The drinks (non-alcoholic, this is a BYOB resto) arrived quickly and the food followed shortly. Thai is our favorite and this sealed it, with it's uniquely hawaiian variations. Macadamia nuts, pineapple, short ribs all seamlessly incorporated into Thai traditional. We had only curries, each delicious, and the drunken noodles with shrimp. My mouth is watering, just remembering. The loud boor at the table for 8 was the only flaw in the outing and, unfortunately, you can find one of those anywhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    77
    25
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great thai restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We happened to eat in this nice restaurant by chance (the next door Cafe o'Lei was full) but we did not regret it. We had some of the nicest thai dinner we had ever experienced! The service was extremely welcoming. Our waitress (Adeline) did all she could to accomodate our very diverse dietary constraints while keeping smiling (some eat only vegeterians, others were allergic to milk or to fish while some didn't like spicy food). We had a thai curry mahi-mahi with a superb sauce of coconut milk and lemon grass, an other Mahi-mahi with a spicy light curry sauce that was also great. To accomodate the vegeterains among us they prepared a special dish with stri-fried vegetables that was very tasty. Finally one of us had lamb chops that were excellent. To finish it all we had a dessert of home-made ice-cream: coconut, green tea and black sesame. We had never tasted a sesame ice-cream but were all enthused by its delicate texture and taste. To top it all the price was very reasonable ($20/person).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Too late for full menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The night was busy with strolling diners-to-be. We arrived at 9, and the essential ingredient for my ordered entree was no longer available. The ambience seemed somewhat Orientally interesting and the people (service people and clientele) vital and animated. Eventually we found time and food at the fifth establishment we visited.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
1 review
“best thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had dinner here tonight and what an awesome experience! Every dish was so fresh and the flavors were amazing! We had the fresh spring rolls, tumeric potato samosa, oxtail soup, green curry with short ribs and fried rice. So impressed with the food and the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not Thai food and awful service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

From the moment we walked in, we knew that there was something wrong with this place, as staff were wandering around like headless chickens and there appeared to be no system in place whatsoever. Turned out the new POS system was on the blink, but there were more problems than that. Almost all the tables we observed were served at least one dish in error, including ourselves. People were complaining about not getting any service. This is one of the most disorganized restaurants we have ever been in.

And now to the food...... with the exception of some Thai basil, in the red curry and a noodle dish we had, there was absolutely no Thai ingredients... OK, other than some store bought red curry paste. Where was the Kaffir lime leaves, fish sauce, lemongrass and fresh chilli? Nowhere to be seen. We had shrimp cakes, which were chopped shrimp with no Thai herbs or any other Thai flavour. This has to be some of the worst "Thai" food ever, so how anyone can rate it a 5, I do not know. Clearly no-one in this restaurant has ever been anywhere near Thailand!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Maui Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.