We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Thai Bistro

Maui Thai Bistro
2439 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7283
(808) 874-5605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maui Thai Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Family really wanted Thai for dinner, this place was across from our accommodation so very convenient. I decided to gloss over the less than stellar reviews (wish I hadn't done so) and go for it as everyone was hungry. I really can't recommend this restaurant. No real complaints about the service or ambience, both were so so but the food really was not good at all. My mussuman beef curry was so salty I could barely eat it and the beef was small slivers of meat and very dry. Chicken satay - dry and tasteless. Fish curry - average. Fish pieces were overcooked. Pad Thai had mushy noodles. The rice was fine (hard to mess up rice) but all in all this was an expensive dinner for such poor quality food. Won't come back here and would recommend that you look for somewhere else to eat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    90
    31
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Super good Thai food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is nothing fancy, however the food was wonderful. Amongst all the 5-star restaurants we went back there twice in a week. Bad news no beer or wine, but you can bring your own if you must. The phone rang off the hook for to go orders as well!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't Thai this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

So my 5 kids and wife were in the mood for some good Thai food and we tried this place out. Should have know from my gut when we walked in this dingy restaurant that it was about to get worse. Tip if they have a can drink display cooler sitting in the dinning area then ya better think it gonna be on outside of good food. Food was awful, beef and broccoli was watery with no flavor, green curry came from paste form and so Not fresh, soup was watery as well with a few pieces of chicken, pad Thai was ok but a little dry and to sticky. I hate to think what the kitchen looked like..... Definitely would pass in this joint

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch. They know spicy if you like spicy but can also make it milder if you are a wimp like me. The food was excellent. Was a bit more expensive than I expected even for Hawaii but not terrible. I would happily eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little Thai place in Kihei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I ate at Maui Thai several times for dinner on our recent stay in Kihei. The food was really good and well priced. The service was very fast and friendly. It is located in the back of a small strip mall on South Kihei Road, so there is plenty of parking between this location and the small shopping center next door. They are open for lunch and then closed until 5pm, when they reopen for dinner. However if you get there when they open again around 5pm, they offer a 15% early bird special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Maui Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.