We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'medium'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Blues Cafe - CLOSED

Stella Blues Cafe
1279 S Kihei Rd, Azeka's II Shopping Center Ste B201, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 874-3779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Piikea
Description: Stella Blues Cafe is a family owned and operated restaurant that has become a land mark in South Maui. We offer home-style cooking with friendly service.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“'medium'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Service - there was none! Super slow...they were down a cook - and it took quite awhile to get the food. Enjoyed the outside deck though. Servers were very friendly.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    199
    98
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon Stella Blues! Super great breakfast and mimosa too! We will definitely go back on our next visit! Our waiter was prompt and every curious. Great atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonnagumpy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Used to be great, what happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We look forward to meals at Stella's every year during our annual visit to Maui. It was common for us to eat there 3 or 4 times a week. The menu had something for everyone, the food was delicious, and they have a pleasant outdoor area.
Last year we were disappointed that the Jambalaya, a favorite, was no longer on the menu. This year when we went with our grownup children and grandchildren, we all concluded that the food was not great. The All American chicken was bland and a shadow of its former self. The burgers, that used to be hand formed and delicious, are now preformed frozen patties. The fries were good, though.
When our son and daughter-in-law visited a week later, they were seated on the patio, but after waiting in excess of 40 minutes to be approached by a server to no avail, they left and ate elsewhere.
After over 15 years of counting Stella's among our favorite Maui restaurants, I'm afraid we will likely not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Food and Large Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Six of us went to Stella Blues on Sunday after church for brunch. I ordered blueberry pancakes with a side of bacon. The full stack of four with blueberries on top and in the pancakes as well, was more than I could eat. The second time I ordered a half stack. The pancakes are thick, fluffy and fill a full plate. Others ordered a loco moto, eggs benedict, Asian salad and pancakes. What a great place to eat. The service was as good as the food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quick efficient friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great place for snacks or lunch ... beware they close early in the evening. Nice outdoor patio ... bar and restaurant service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Blues Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Blues Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.