We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quick cheap eats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horhitos Taqueria

Horhitos Taqueria
1941 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI
(808) 298-5670
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent quick cheap eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Definitely worth a stop while at the beach in Kihei. The fish tacos were $3 each and $2 for chicken with a chipotle mayo and pico de gallo. It has a nice little place to sit at or you could always take to go. We went back twice and also sent our friends who were big fans of another taco place called Coconuts and they said these couldn't be beat for the price and good quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    31
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This food truck is one of the best places to eat in Kihei, if not the whole Maui.

I found it here, on Tripadvisor, before heading for Hawaii. There's a little intrigue - Tripadvisor does not place it correctly on the map (though the address is almost correct). Google does not know about this place at all. Actually, Horhitos is located in the parking lot of Kihei Market Place, across from Kalama Beach Park and next to 76's gas station.

First we went there out of curiosity. And then it became our favorite place for lunch. Their fresh tacos are simply delicious. Tasting them maybe not a quite kind of gastronomic epiphany, but in my opinion, they are "perfect tacos" and you'll be wishing to come over and over again to have repeat your experience. And Horhitos will not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“No Disappointments Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

So glad we read previous reviews and ate here three times. We tried fish, shrimp, steak and chicken tacos and also quesadillas. All the food here is freshly made, delicious, and very reasonable. There is a small, mostly shaded seating area and the staff were pleasant. This food truck can be very busy at times but it is well worth the wait. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best value in all hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We discovered this gem by a local suggestion and we're not disappointed. After paying $20+ for pb&j and grilled cheese meals for the kids! we'd had enought. We ventured out to try this place. The fish tacos are great- fresh, light, and wrapped in a warm tortilla. My kids simply loved the pork tacos...my 8 year old ate 3. While the tacos aren't gigantic, you'll want to get 2 for yourself, at $2-4 a piece, even with us pigging out, it was still the best deal anywhere! Going back again tomorrow!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Taste, but no Guacamole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Liked this little truck. Food was taste, but I would have liked a bit of guacamole with my taco. No corn chips either, only potato chips.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horhitos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Horhitos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horhitos Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.