We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ululani's Shave Ice

Ululani's Shave Ice
61 S Kihei Rd Kihei, HI 96753, Kihei, Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch
ft worth
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Best on Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great service, prices, flavors and the best on Maui! Packed with locals so you know it's good! They make their own syrups so the taste is fresh and pure. Very good consistency for shaved ice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    46
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best shaved ice around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had never had a shaved ice with ice cream in the bottom. We loved this so much we went here everyday.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy Shave Ice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I flew into Maui today, and just about the first thing we did was head to Ululani's Shave Ice. We ended up getting there about 5 minutes until they closed. We had never been there before and weren't aware of the operating hours. As soon as we walked in the door, it was obvious that they were already cleaning up. I felt bad initially, because I am not one to show up at any restaurant establishment even within 30 minutes of closing. But despite us inconveniencing the girls working there, they were super friendly and were more than willing to serve us. The shave ice was SO good. I have been to Matsumato's on the northern shore of Oahu, and it is similar to that place. Both delicious. I had the coconut ice cream at the bottom, and mango and passion fruit flavors added. Yummy! We will be going back many times during our vacation here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tried several shave ice places in Hawaii, this one is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had shave ice twice in Kauai, and once in Maui. Ululani's turned out to be the best. Their tropical flavors used real fruit in the syrup, not just the fake syrupy stuff that the other places used. We had coconut and pineapple, with a scoop of coconut on the bottom. It was really good. Their ice was also the finest texture of all that we tried. The other places put ice cream in the middle, which we didn't enjoy as much. Uluani's was the smallest and most expensive, but turned out to be our favorite.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shave ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I think we went here every single day! Don't forget to ask for a frequency card on your first day! We got the micro size bc they were so big! My cuz only got lime, but I tried all kinds of favors and they were all good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ululani's Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.