We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manoli's Pizza Company

Manoli's Pizza Company
100 Wailea Ike Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-874-7499
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manoli's Pizza Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 137 restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wailea Alanui
Transit: Yes, there is a bus stop about 200 feet form the restaurant
Description: Manoli's Pizza Company was created with family in mind. My father, Manoli Placourakis, was born in 1925 and raised on the largest of all the Greek Islands, Crete...where the weather and water are beautiful year- round, where seafood, vegetables, and fruit are plentiful and where the bread, cheese and wine are all handcrafted, the old fashioned way. Rhonda and I are raising our son, named after my father and born on Maui in 2004, on a beautiful island with similar qualities to my father's birthplace. This leads us to Manoli's Pizza Company. Our fare here at Manoli's is centered on fresh, organic, and sustainable products whenever possible in crafting all of our pizzas, salads, and even when choosing the wines on our list. Manoli's is where healthful, flavorful foods and beverages come together in a place where friends and family meet. As 'big Manoli' used to say, "Treat your friends like family and your family like friends".​ Mahalo Aaron Placourakis
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Manoli's has a spectacular open-air dining room which faces the ocean and a golf course. This open dining room affirms that you truly are in Hawaii with it's moderate climate. We ordered two salads and the pineapple pizza. The salads were the Greek and the Caesar. The salads were a bit heavy on dressing. The pizza is very thin crust and a bit too much cheese, which overpowers the thin crust. The portions are small and the taste is average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    69
    66
    42
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Okay Happy Hour w/ Great Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The ocean views are great and the outdoor/open air is wonderful. I went for happy hour and there were a few individuals there, but not many. There were regular diners as well but only 2 tables. Perhaps this is a later night crowd? The pizzas are thin crust and just okay. The meatball slider was difficult to eat. The hummus does not come with enough lavosh. However, if you request more, they will provide more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive and terrible quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We did take out from here one night during our stay - huge mistake. We tried calling several times, but the phone lines were down (we found out that it was the whole town, not just them). So we decided to just go in person. 40 minutes later we finally had our pizza. That wasn't even the problem - we got back to our hotel with no plates, utensils, or anything else. We took our first bite, and were very disappointed. There was absolutely no sauce on the pizza! The chicken was old and dry, and there was no flavor. And it was $25 for a two topping pizza!

Ridiculously overpriced and terrible.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Terrible Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Burnt, tasteless and poor service. IF you get delivery you DO get a charge, even if the hostess tells you otherwise. Our pizza was burnt, period.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The bum's rush?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First time we ordered a margarita pizza to go. It was really good and at $16 bucks not a bad deal. Tonight we decided to eat in the restaurant. 6 pm and lots if room to spare. No lineups, no problem. While we appreciate that a restaurant wants to do high customer turnover, I've never been served so fast in my life. Drinks ordered and whammo, they are there. We've barely had time to look at the menu and the waiter wants to take our order. "Give us a minute" we said and that's all we got before he was back to take our order. Ok, so we ordered and the salads were on the table within 3 minutes. No lingering over our cocktails. Lets get busy! We had not finished our salads before the main course was on the table. We commented to ourselves that this was faster than a fast food restaurant . We really didn't get a chance to enjoy or savour our dinner. The table next to us managed to move their family of four in and out the door in no time at all. Hey, if they customers are lined up to get in, the quick turnover is appreciated. If the restaurant is almost empty, what's the rush. I don't blame our waiter. He's just doing what he's told. In fairness, the salads were yummy and by Maui standards generous. The chicken piccata looked a little pale and lost in a beige sauce. My bolognese sauce was average at best. The pizzas are good though with a nice thin crust. But fellas, give us a chance to enjoy the beautiful view and relax a bit. After all,we are supposed to be on Maui time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manoli's Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoli's Pizza Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.