We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My dreams came true in Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast
3259 Akala Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Winter 2014/2015 Availability
Ranked #6 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My dreams came true in Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, and everything was amazing!

The hosts:
Tom and Denise were great hosts. They were completely open to getting to know their guests, but in a way that didn't feel like you had to. Anytime we needed anything they were right there to give us advice on what to do, where to go, or just help us out. They went above and beyond, letting us borrow sweatshirts to go watch the sunrise (which is freezing by the way) and sharing cookies and wine with us when we were hanging out in the common area.

Breakfast:
Every morning you have a choice of four items off of the menu, plus drink. There were different choices of breads, cereals, fruit, muffins, juice, and other things. We usually got fruit, yogurt, bread, and Denise's homemade muffins- which are different every day and always delicious! It was a perfect breakfast setup for us. Enough to fill us up, but light enough to not leave us feeling weighed down as we headed off for a day of adventure. Also there are 2 delivery times, I think 6:30 and 8:30. Our last morning there we had to leave even earlier, so Denise had our breakfast ready to go the night before for us to take on the go.

Room:
We were in the rainforest suite. Some say the rooms are small, but for us it was perfect, especially with our private outdoor deck where we ate our breakfast every morning. It is probably slightly less room than a standard hotel room size, but at a much greater price, and felt much more clean and homey than any hotel. Queen size bed, BIG shower, plenty of storage for clothes. There is also a small fridge which we did end up using and a coffee pot, coffee provided. I also read someone not liking that they didn't clean the room, which is true, but I would prefer that way, and did not expect them to.

Overall:
We were looking for a B & B for the personal feel that you don't get in a hotel, and better breakfasts. We didn't plan on being in our room too much, so we also were looking to not spend much money on it. With almost every hotel on Maui being 3x the price of this place, I don't see why anyone would opt for a hotel. Overall our trip to Hawaii was amazing, and a lot of that is thanks to our 5 night stay at Dreams Come True on Maui. Couldn't have dreamed a better honeymoon!

Room Tip: We were in the rainforest suite. Some say the rooms are small, but for us it was perfect, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We live on Maui and had to find a place to stay for one night while our house was being tented for termites. Really didn't want to spend too much on our lodging. I had previously checked on line for B&B's when friends were looking for a place to stay for their vacation. I remembered seeing Dreams come true on Maui and I am so glad that we choose to stay there.
We felt right at home from the moment we drove in. We stayed in the Ocean Suite and loved the bed, we slept so well that night. Breakfast was such a treat. The homemade muffins were so yummy and waiting for us when we woke up.
I wish we could have stayed more nights. We will definitely recommend Tom and Denise to all of our friends and family. Their home is lovely and we enjoyed our short time there.

Room Tip: We didn't see a bad room in the home and they have a really nice cottage also on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I recently stayed here and enjoyed the Oceanview room for 4 nights. I found it to have all the things that are important to me. A nice quiet room with a patio right outside the door. During my stay, I had some of my best nights sleep, waking to the sounds of local birds. A tasty breakfast got me going on my busy day. Another great feature here is the chance to use snorkel gear, beach chairs and cooler. The convenience of having these available was great! Tom recommended some beaches where I could find turtles and less crowds. Also, he told me of a really nice place to have dinner and suggested I make the early bird sunset specials. Really appreciate that Tom!
Hope to say here at my next Maui visit.

Room Tip: Oceanview room had additional privecy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the Ocean Suite for one nite but quickly realized the King bed was a strange futon base with a thin piece of foam for a mattress. Very uncomfortable and we changed to the other room the next nite to a hard as a rock still uncomfortable bed. Everything is the cheapest material...silverware was bendable, snorkel equipment was nasty, we ended up renting from Snorkel Bob's, the bamboo stationary curtain on the closet was falling apart and made it extremely cumbersome to retrieve ours clothes, and the computer in the common room has a scratched up screen and the mouse does not work. The one thing that bothered us the most was the fact that Tom and Denise disappeared for 2 days and locked the common room up for those two days, making it impossible for us to use the broken down computer, with no notice that this was going to happen. A heads up would have been appreciated. Tom and Denise are definitely good people, but just because we will only be staying with them for a short period of time doesn't mean we don't want a comfortable bed and quality amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at 5 different places during a 3 week honeymoon and this was by far the best one. Tom and Denise were great, and the place had everything we needed and more. They even prepared our final breakfast to go in a disposable cooler so we could get on the road to Hana nice and early.

Pros:
- Friendly Hosts (Tom was eager to give advice)
- Beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, boogie board, snorkelling gear available at no extra cost
- Clean Room
- Wonderful breakfasts (don't miss out on Denise's muffins!)
- Location (on highway, close to all the big beaches in Wailea, but you WILL need a car)

Cons:
- Extra charge for air conditioning

Room Tip: We stayed in the rainforest room - can't speak about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Amazing spot and great hosts, Tom and Denise have a super setup for this B&B. Right on the border between Kihei and Wailea. Well situated for all sorts of Maui adventures. Super great that they have Towels, Chairs, Bogey Boards, snorkel Gear, and even a cooler for your trips to the beach! This in itself saves you so much money, on top of the fact that this is a very reasonably priced accommodation to begin with. Great Spot!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We decided to stay at this B&B because of the very convenient position in Kihei/Wailea. The neighborhood is extremely quiet and the property is green and pleasant, with a nice deck facing sunset.

We stayed in the Rainforest Suite, which features a private patio, a kitchenette, tv, AC and private bathroom (no window). We were a little worried because in other reviews we had read that the Rainforest Suite does not get much privacy, but we had no privacy problem whatsoever, because two sides of the patio are protected by wooden walls, while the third has a roll-up curtain. We enjoyed our patio for breakfast, for reading, and for hanging out our beach stuff. The only drawback of the room is that it gets direct sun in the afternoon (at least in August) so it can become a little hot especially around 3:00, but this was not a real issue, as we normally were away at that time and there was AC anyway, and also direct sun was good for drying beach stuff. Maybe the bed could have been more comfortable (again not a real issue).

We liked the breakfast, especially the fact that you can order what you want from a list the night before, therefore nothing gets wasted. We also enjoyed meeting Tom and Denise, they are very pleasant hosts, we hope we will be able to meet them again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3259 Akala Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Come True on Maui is the perfect vacation hideaway. A tropically landscaped 1/2 acre estate offering a one-bedroom ocean view vacation cottage and two Bed and Breakfast suites. Just around the corner from Maui's finest beaches yet away from the busy strip of hotels and condos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Come True On Maui b&b
Dreams Come True On Maui Hotel Kihei
Dreams Come True On Maui Bed And Breakfast Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.