We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast
3259 Akala Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th night FREE!!!
Ranked #9 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved every minute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

My fiance and I wanted to get away to Maui, but hate the resort life, which we find overrated (and overpriced). We wanted to stay at a more intimate place with character and charm, but we were also on a budget. Dreams Come True on Maui (DCTOM) was literally a dream come true!

Tom and Denise (the owners) have the perfect balance of warm hospitality and privacy. Both were very knowledgeable about where to go on the island (and where not to go). Tom was always there to lend a helping hand whenever we had questions, whether it was where we should go to hike, or where to eat, or which beach to go to, or when and where to snorkel, etc.

Every morning, Denise would make us a wonderful breakfast and surprise us with one of her awesome homemade bread recipes (especially her "Pina Colada" muffins...they were sooo good!) We especially liked this Bed and Breakfast because Tom and Denise allowed us (and all their guests) to eat our breakfast in our room at our leisure, rather than collectively with the other guests at a set time.

The room itself was perfect for us. We stayed in the Ocean Room and we loved it because it was closest to the outdoor kitchen/grill, where we could cook some of our meals (another great reason to stay here!) The B&B grounds are gorgeous and very private, with great views of the ocean and Haleakala. South Maui beaches and Kihei shopping are just a 5 minute drive away.

Thanks again Tom and Denise for an awesome experience that we will never forget! You definitely help make our dreams come true on Maui! Mahalo!

Your new friends on the East Coast,
Melissa Cox & Matt Smith

  • Liked — The perfect balance of warm hospitality and privacy, and the breakfasts.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

My wife & I stayed here while on Maui this past May '07. Here are some of the points I would like to make:
1- Tom (The host) is a truly nice person - from the moment you talk to him and/or email, you can tell you are dealing with a professional host/concierge.
2- The directions from the airport to the home are PERFECT, the only thing missing would be if he told me how many feet it was from the turn-to-turn.
3- When you arrive, Tom is already standing outside as he hears the car pull up - then you get a BIG ALOHA (sorry no Lai's) - then you get a tour of the home.
4- The room we stayed in was nice (if you look at pics it's the one with ocean-based theme) - it has a king bed (two twin's pushed together). There is a small kitchenette, TV, closet, drawers, small bathroom with shower (no tub). My wife was not very pleased - but I think it's because she expected more then what we had versus not happy with the room itself.
5- Breakfast is what you ask for - you get a menu that covers items like fruit, cereal, bagels or muffins, juice, water ,.... - as long as you have your ordered in before 9pm the evening before you are good to go! That was a little hard because who comes back that early while on vacation.
6- Tom provides you with all sorts of goodies to use during your stay - snorkeling gear, beach gear, barbeque grill on-site, deck, washing machine, ton's of guide books. He makes you feel so at home that your are welcomed/invited to watch TV in the Master Family Room at any time.

OVERALL - I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

First of all, if you are considering going to Maui...by all means DO IT! My vacation there was the best I've ever had (Vancouver, Canada was a distant second).

Tom & Denise Croly were terrific hosts. I stayed in the Rain Forest Suite...it was perfectly clean. A pleasant breeze came in through the large screen door most all the time. The bed was plenty comfortable. They have done a great job with the property itself. Lots and lots of vegetation...a gazebo with a fishpond...and a few exotic birds to boot. An incredible view.

I must say that Tom went far beyond the call of duty for me. Having never been to Maui, I had all sorts of questions: Where's the best beach for snorkeling? Can I use your snorkeling gear? How about boogie boarding? What do I need to know about Haleakala? The Road to Hana? Places to eat? etc, etc.

Tom became affectionately known as "My man on the ground in Maui" who I could call for advice about anything and he was generous with good advice and was not at all put off or impatient with my many questions. He added great value to my vacation and I'll always appreciate it.

There are no negatives about the Dreams Come True On Maui B & B. You just have to know that a B & B is different from an ocean resort hotel on the beach. Those places, though spectacular works of architecture, are to my mind rather short on personality. They are also obscenely expensive. My reason for going to Maui was that my buddy Mike was married on Makena Beach. He and his lovely wife stayed at The Four Seasons Maui. It was certainly a very nice place but I believe my experience was better for getting the feel for Maui by staying in a neighborhood B & B.

I can't say enough good things about it. Thanks Tom & Denise. I can't wait to visit you again.

  • Liked — The location & the owners.
  • Disliked — Could provide more breakfast options.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

After reading some of the reviews, we were prepared for an average calibre accomodation, after all it was a B&B and the price was right for us.

To our pleasant surprise, the place was fabulous. Yes, it was small, and you are living in someone else's home. But we found Tom and Denise to be very non-intrusive, you saw them and spoke to them if you sought them out, otherwise, you had your complete privacy, with a private entrance to your room.

The location of their home is perfect for viewing the fabulous Hawaiian sunsets.

Access to a computer to check back home, (NOT work), and washer/dryer available, all at no extra charge.

They were both excellent sources of information about the island, activities not to miss, etc, and very helpful. The breakfasts were excellent, a very generous continental breakfast I would say!!

Although flying to Hawaii is a long trek for us in Atlantic Canada, we truly hope to return to Maui, and would certainly have this accommodation, or their cottage, on our list of preferred places to stay.

Thanks for your great hospitality Tom and Denise!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — location (closer to beach would make it perfect.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

This was our second trip to beautiful Maui. Since we knew how little time was spent in the hotel room, we decided to look for a less expensive alternative to the high priced hotel rooms. What we found in the Cottage at Dreams Come True on Maui was much more than we expected. Since it provided all the amenities we needed and more, we felt like it was our own little "Home Away From Home"! The accommodations in the cottage were very cozy and comfortable.

We enjoyed making our breakfast in the spacious kitchen. On the days spent hiking and sightseeing, we made lunch to go using the coolers so kindly provided by Tom and Denise! The wonderful barbeque grill right outside the door was put to good use a couple of nights when we just wanted to relax after a busy day. It was exceptionally nice to pack less since we had use of the washer/dryer in the enclosed carport. Having our own "reserved" parking space in the carport was a bonus also!

On both visits to this beautiful island paradise, we've talked about how we could stay and make this our home. We've yet to find a way to make this our permanent home but until then, we will visit with Tom and Denise again in their "Dream Cottage" on beautiful Maui!

  • Liked — Privacy, amenities
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

My partner and I recently spent five nights at Dreams Come True on Maui. Some of the criticisms and comments that others have made are valid: the rooms are certainly small and one might feel a little cramped, for instance.
But this is not a mainstream hotel but a B&B, where, naturally enough, you feel as though you're staying in someone's home. Our overall experience was very favourable - we liked Tom and Denise, appreciated their efforts to share information about the island and we enjoyed their breakfasts. [In addition to the beach equipment, they also have a decent library of guidebooks, etc, that you can consult.] The other positive thing, of course, is the price which compared very well with other places.
If you're after a luxury hotel experience this probably is not for you, but if you're keen to stay in modestly-priced accommodation where the owners try very hard to keep you happy, this could be the place

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

This was our first trip to Maui. This is a great location off the ocean (less than 5 minutes) for viewing the ocean and having peace and quiet on any trip to Maui. Tom and Denise were very gracious and helpful hosts. They were very helpful when it came to sights to see, places to eat, beaches for snorkeling, snorkeling tips, and providing resources with more information. They provided snorkeling gear and boogie boards. We rented a car and were readily able to get anywhere on the island. Breakfast was great with wonderful homemade baked goods. The Ocean Suite room was neat and clean with a refrigerator, big closet, king-size bed, and patio. There is also an outdoor kitchen for use and a birdhouse with a koi pond. The main room with the large screen for movies and television was a wonderful place to relax and reminisce about one day and plan the next. It was also wonderful to be able to check email and do laundry. Look forward to our return trip. Valerie & Ken

  • Liked — gracious and helpful hosts
  • Tips/Secrets — wonderful homemade baked goods are a must
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3259 Akala Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Come True on Maui is the perfect vacation hideaway. A tropically landscaped 1/2 acre estate offering a one-bedroom ocean view vacation cottage and two Bed and Breakfast suites. Just around the corner from Maui's finest beaches yet away from the busy strip of hotels and condos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Come True On Maui Hotel Kihei
Dreams Come True On Maui b&b
Dreams Come True On Maui Bed And Breakfast Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Come True on Maui Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.