We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kihei Akahi D-506
Kihei Akahi D-506
Kihei Akahi D-506
Kihei
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tombacon5...
1 review
“Don't bother, lots of better options.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Very disappointed. Old, dated, terrible bed, fan in bedroom did not work. Only had 2 towels to use for the week, no other amenities. Pools are lame and obvious owner hasn't touched it in years by feedback in the guest book as the last entry was a year ago and had the same issues.

1 of 5 stars Value 1 of 5 stars Rooms
2 of 5 stars Location 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
1 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2014
We really wish you would have called us with your issues.

First of all, we would have tried to find you a different unit in the Akahi complex if you disliked D-506.

Second, many of the problems you mention would have been fixed if we knew about them. We had no idea there is a problem with the fan in the bedroom - we'll have someone in to fix it. We would have sent over more towels. There isn't much we can do about the pools though.

We can only respond to and work with what people tell us. All too often people will be silent during their stay about problems that we can fix and then return home to blast out negative reviews while never having given us a chance to address the problem.

We really wish you would have let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pknski
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We just returned from a stay at D506 Kihei Akahi. What a great experience!

First, the location is great. We drove and walked around Kihei quite a bit and agreed that this location is the best. The building is at the back of the property but on a hill so there are still great views of the ocean. It is also within walking distance of shops and restaurants and across from Kam II, a beautiful beach.

The unit itself has everything you need. The kitchen has great appliances and lots of space if you want to cook. The dishwasher didn't work when we were there (we told the office) but we didn't really need it so it wasn't a problem. It's likely an easy fix so this didn't affect my review.

On other sites reviewers mentioned that the view is lacking or that the description of an ocean view is misleading as it is a partial one. We did not find this to be true. This unit has wonderful ocean views, albeit interrupted by a palm tree or two. Sure, there are buildings in front of this one, but you can see right over them.

The breezes going through are lovely; we never turned on the A/C.

I'm giving it four stars for a couple reasons; I wish I could give it 4 1/2. While these didn't bother me, they did impact the overall quality of the unit.

The bathroom tile grout needs redone, as it's broken in places. The windows in the bedroom couldn't be opened, or else we couldn't figure out how to open them.

Overall, we were very pleased with the unit, the location, and the price. We would definitely stay here again.

Notes:

Because bedroom windows open onto hallways and people keep their lanai windows open at night for the air, they enforce quiet hours. So if you are the type to want to stay up late and talk/party, you may not want this property. It's a very quiet place.

There is a walk-in shower and grab bar, so it would be good for those with some mobility issues. There is also an elevator. However, it does not appear to be wheelchair accessible.

Good for couples, probably not kids, mostly due to the need for quiet. However, we did see kids, and the pools and lawn would be great for them. It probably depends upon the age and temperament of the kid.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Bedroom windows
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Surrey, BC, Canada
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2012
We're so sorry for your poor experience! We are alerted to building construction and do notify incoming guests. In this case, however, the construction came from a neighboring condo and we were NOT notified. In fact, we have no record of your trying to contact us either...we can be reached easily 24/7 808-965-0400. Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$85
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by manager
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Manager
Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
18089650400
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2012
Response Rate: 55 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 7 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing