We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat then play golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's on the Green

Kono's on the Green
1345 Piilani Highway, Elleair Maui Golf Club, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808 633 4220
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kono's on the Green is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lipoa
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Eat then play golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Good food and service right at the golf course. We enjoyed pulled pork torta and ham & turkey torta right at the golf course then played a fabulous game. The restaurant looks out over the valley and course and is a pleasant design. We highly recommend Kono's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a great restaurant and Kono's did not disappoint. The restaurant is located on a golf course and is elegant yet relaxed with great ambiance. My wife and I started with our tropical drinks which were amazing. We then ordered the caprese and the smoked salmon appetizers. Both were absolutely mouthwatering. We thought it couldn't get better but the main courses of the pancetta wrapped scallops and shrimp and the daily fish with rice and vegetables actually did with such incredible flavours. To finish we had a mango cheesecake which was to die for.

The service of the staff was first rate and it was such an incredible experience that we returned the next night having the same items with the exception that I had the NYstrip as my main course which was just as delicious.

The only recommendation I would make is for the staff to space the time between courses to give a bit more time to digest and relax.

Overall great restaurant and thanks to the staff and chefs for a great dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Mai Tais were not great. For the price how about adding some alcohol? And the shrimp appetizer was just blah. I would not go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great happy hour, fabulous views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

After a long morning at the Grand Wailea spa, my friend & I were ready for lunch & some time outside! I figured lunch on a golf course would be perfect, and Kono's on the Green was the perfect choice! What we didn't know is that arriving at 2 was the perfect time! We were able to order off the lunch menu & enjoy happy hour specials that start at 2:30!

The Mai Tais were delicious, not watered down like we have found in other places. The lunch menu offers a great variety of salads, sandwiches & pizzas. The beef panini with sweet potato fries & chicken, artichoke pizza with pesto sauce were the perfect choices!!! We enjoyed the green & ocean views from the patio seating! The service was prompt & attentive!

Great choice for a golf clubhouse meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Force Me To Have a Fixed Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Okay, so I planned a romantic dinner and when we got there the menu was off the menu.... there was a fixed menu. The every day menu looked awesome and the fixed menu was okay.

The view was great over looking the tee off from #1 and the green on #9.

The server was great and we had a good time as we always do.

As an aside, the golf course is worth while - www.teeoff.com

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's on the Green also viewed

 

Been to Kono's on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.