We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did I miss this place last year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinaole Grill

Kinaole Grill
73 Alanui Kealii Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-280-9048
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 142 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“How did I miss this place last year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great food from a truck. I had driven by several times last year and noticed the lineups. After looking at the reviews on tripadvisor I made it a point to visit this year. My daughter and I tried the shrimp on two occassions and pulled pork on another. Both were excellent. The servings were generous and cooked to perfection. We both thought the mac salad and coleslaw were great. They seem to be there from mid morning to well into the evening. The staff are very friendly and carry on a good discussion while they are preparing your meal. I was told they are going to have another location down by Kam 3. They will see me next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“um...yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Coming from a city that has a pretty extensive list of food trucks, including a truck that sells fresh Maine Lobster rolls on Park avenue, I was excited to find out there was a food truck that serves seafood, near the beach in Kihei. Prices are great, they are generous with the amount of food and the wait was not long at all. I had the panko crusted Mahi, coconut shrimp and omg, the calamari. I dream of having that calamari again. These were not chewy rings, these were fresh, delicious, in fact, when I got my order, I thought they had given me fish by accident, because I'd never had fresh calamari like this ever before. (For the record, their calamari is cut into filets.) Fantastic seafood on the beach, I love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fast and Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Awesome little truck off the side of the road. I don't mind paying high price if the food is worth it. This definitely is. $12 per plate for 6 large shrimp, Mac salad and cole slaw. Can take it across the street and eat at the beach or picnic tables. Loved every bite and will go back again!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“It is worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It is worth finding, worth waiting (although we did not have a long wait) and worth every dollar. We sought out this food truck only because of recommendations from other reviewers. It was easy to spot from kihei road and we had a lovely chat with the owner while she was preparing our food. We had the coconut shrimp and the pork. Both were fantastic and we had so much food that we ended up with enough for lunch again the next day. Btw, I later realized after reading a historic book about Hawaii that the side scoops of rice, macaroni and slaw goes back many years ago when restaurants were being established. That was kind of cool!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food truck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just a short walk from Maui Coast Hotel or beach. We ordered our lunch and then took it to a pinic table at the beach. My husband had the panko ahi and I had the coconut shrimp. Both were good with sauces that really made the dishes! The sides are average-cold mac salad could use more flavor-something to match the fabulous entrees. Good prices compared to other restaurants. Overall, I would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinaole Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kinaole Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinaole Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.