We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pizza, the Pasta, the Owner - all Fantastic! A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza

Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza
95 Lipoa Street, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-874-0888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 144 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Bakery, Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Pizza, the Pasta, the Owner - all Fantastic! A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It took our friends from NJ on their first trip to Maui to find this Hidden Gem and tell us about it, we have been coming to Maui 19 Years! We will not forget it. We love it, who does not love having the Owner greet you with a big smile every time you walk in and thank you for coming?! Lorenzo is fantastic and has built a wonderful restaurant that all of the locals love and patronize. Did I mention the pizza, thin crust, fantastic, my favorite is the Mauian, which is shredded pork, grilled onions and pineapple with drizzled Barbecue sauce on the top - insane! I dream about it. The Hubby really loved their Lasagna but now that he has tried the Spaghetti Bolognese he is torn over which to order, he loves them both.
Oh and did you know they also have a fantastic bakery, right as you walk in. Everyone is so friendly here and we have chatted with other patrons who agree that the atmosphere and the food make you want to come back again, over and over! (Oh, and super reasonably priced!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    107
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We decided to try Fabiani's based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. It is in a stip mall and tucked away but it was still packed and very lively. We took seats at the bar and decided to eat right there. The caesar salad had a bit of a different taste than the same old, same old and it was very tasty and fresh. We tried the garlic bread and were not let down, it was very hot, fresh and crispy with just the right amount of garlic and parmesan and not too much butter/oil. We split a pizza with pepperoni, italian sausage, honey ham, mushrooms, onions and red peppers on their Italian style thin crust. The sauce was wonderful and I found the pizza to be better than what we had all over Italy just last year - the typical pizza in Italy has few toppings but this one was nicely loaded and not over done. We took home dessert and it was great too. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Wa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Pizza outside of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a wonderful surprise! We have been coming to Maui twice a year for several years, and just discovered this restaurant. Proably still wouldn;t have found it if a local resident hadn't told us about it. It's a couple of blocks off of Sourth Kihei Road in a bit of an out of the "main drag" area. Lorenzo, the owner, is from Cinque Terre, and his food reflects his Northern Italian heritage. The pizzas have thin, crisp crusts, and if you order one with several toppings, they will be in sections, rather than all mixed up ala the typical American pizza. Don't expect a pile of toppings, lots of cheese and dripping with tomato sauce. I haven't enjoyed pizza like this, or this good, except when visiting Tuscany. I had given up on ever finding it in the U.S. The menu isn't limited to pizza, it just happens to be my favorite. There is a nice selection of pastas, and their panini, made with their home made rosemary focaccia bread are crisp and desicious. It is worth a trip to Kihei from any part of the island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Noisey due to sports tv but food is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have loved Fabiani's and returned multiple times. This trip we have found it disappointing. It was so noisy, the tv's drew sports fans and the conversation roared.The place was crowded and due to the open nature of the building, the sound was untamed. I ordered the tako carpaccio (octopus sliced thin) which is some of the best I have ever had. It was a bit oily but still worth the taste. The Caesar salad was average but a green salad at a neighboring table looked wonderful. My husband ordered the chicken parmesan and the sauce was thin and tasted like it came from a can as it lacked depth and was ho-hum. Maybe it is better on non sports TV nights when people are not talking so loudly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ITALIAN GEM ON MAUI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were driving by and saw the sign from the street and decided let's try it, since we have not seen an italian restuarant on Maui. A pleasant suprise. The food was fantastic and the garlic bread was to die for. They make their own sauces and bread on site!!! The prices are very reasonable and the portions are perfect.The pizza's and specials rock. The service is amazing!!
Heather is the Best, paying attention to your every need!! We went back 3 times and will continue to return every year we go to the island!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.