We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza outside of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza

Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza
95 Lipoa Street, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-874-0888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 143 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Bakery, Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Bellevue, Wa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Pizza outside of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a wonderful surprise! We have been coming to Maui twice a year for several years, and just discovered this restaurant. Proably still wouldn;t have found it if a local resident hadn't told us about it. It's a couple of blocks off of Sourth Kihei Road in a bit of an out of the "main drag" area. Lorenzo, the owner, is from Cinque Terre, and his food reflects his Northern Italian heritage. The pizzas have thin, crisp crusts, and if you order one with several toppings, they will be in sections, rather than all mixed up ala the typical American pizza. Don't expect a pile of toppings, lots of cheese and dripping with tomato sauce. I haven't enjoyed pizza like this, or this good, except when visiting Tuscany. I had given up on ever finding it in the U.S. The menu isn't limited to pizza, it just happens to be my favorite. There is a nice selection of pastas, and their panini, made with their home made rosemary focaccia bread are crisp and desicious. It is worth a trip to Kihei from any part of the island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    107
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Noisey due to sports tv but food is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have loved Fabiani's and returned multiple times. This trip we have found it disappointing. It was so noisy, the tv's drew sports fans and the conversation roared.The place was crowded and due to the open nature of the building, the sound was untamed. I ordered the tako carpaccio (octopus sliced thin) which is some of the best I have ever had. It was a bit oily but still worth the taste. The Caesar salad was average but a green salad at a neighboring table looked wonderful. My husband ordered the chicken parmesan and the sauce was thin and tasted like it came from a can as it lacked depth and was ho-hum. Maybe it is better on non sports TV nights when people are not talking so loudly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ITALIAN GEM ON MAUI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were driving by and saw the sign from the street and decided let's try it, since we have not seen an italian restuarant on Maui. A pleasant suprise. The food was fantastic and the garlic bread was to die for. They make their own sauces and bread on site!!! The prices are very reasonable and the portions are perfect.The pizza's and specials rock. The service is amazing!!
Heather is the Best, paying attention to your every need!! We went back 3 times and will continue to return every year we go to the island!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“good stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We ate at Fabiani’s based on a recommendation from a local we met at Makena beach.
Fabiani’s had very good food, the service was outstanding, better than many five star restaurants, and since they are a bakery as well, their desserts were awesome. We split the mini red velvet cake that was covered in a chocolate candy shell, mmmmm!
The prices were very reasonable too. If we were staying closer to Kihea, we would have eaten here more than once.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marin county, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“greatest flatbread pizza EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Small shrimp w pesto pizza for $14 and a nice Italian Pino Gringio for $22 Is a great bargain
for Hawaii. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabiani's Bakery and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.