We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamaole Beach Park 3

Kamaole Beach Park 3
2800 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 19 attractions in Kihei
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Iowa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This beach was right across the street from our condo. It has walking paths adjacent to it and a beautiful setting. The beach was never crowded during a two week stay we just completed.

Snorkeling was decent at this beach as you got a little further out. Saw sea turtles here several times, especially up against the large formation of rocks at the far end of this beach. Great sunset views here, too. Be sure to stay for a few minutes after sunset for the most beautiful colors.

I did not fully appreciate this until we got there but if you are fair skinned, get a high SPF and reapply it every hour you are out on beach activity. Your skin will thank you!

A couple things to be aware of as you get in the water:
1. Be careful for significant sand drop offs.
2. Be careful for rocks. Depending on the tides, there were different rocks exposed in different places.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    107
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“First attempt at snorkling here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Love this spot. The grassy, treed area was lovely... nice washrooms... nice beach area. The rocks along the one side gave for some great opportunity to see fish. Loved this beach. There are no stores nearby to pick up a few snacks. You would have to drive down S. Kihei a few miles. Only drawback!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay was directly across the street from this beach. We loved the grassy area and the easy beach access. In the water we snorkeled with a couple of giant turtles each day and another snorkeler shared an octopus. Beautiful sunsets and great place to meet friends and family.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This beach is the best in Kihei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Kam Beach III was right across from our condo on our recent visit. We tried all 3 "Kam" beaches and the Kalama beach park during our visit and I'll say this one is the best. There is a huge grassy area for watching the sunset, a nice bathroom, a shower station and a life guard on duty. My wife and I loved the snorkeling on the North end of the beach in and around the rock outcrop all the way over to the Kam II beach side. You are guaranteed to see a Turtle or two.

The beach seemed to be the least populated and the cleanest. Will spend more time here in the future!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Give the third Kamaole a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The guidebooks we consulted about Kihei talked about the three Kamaoles (not a Latin rock band, as one put it.) Being close to two of the three, we decided to try the third, which was the longest. Lots of nice fine sand, shade from the trees lining the beach and nice water to swim, it was as described in the guides. It was also close to a bunch of bars, eateries and shops. (Seeing Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers banners in front of a sports bar, just feet from the beach, was priceless).

Good parking along the street, as long as one gets there before 9 am.

Overall, a good location for spending a day at the beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamaole Beach Park 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamaole Beach Park 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.