We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain compared to anywhere in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kihei Surfside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kihei Surfside to your Saves list
Kihei Surfside
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2936 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
San Jose CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great bargain compared to anywhere in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

My wife, son age 10 and I had an excellent time here, the best of the 3 condos we stayed at and would definitely come here again.

When you think of it where esle in the world can you stay, with a real view of the ocean, so close to a fantastic beach, with world class snorkeling or scuba diving right from shore in a condo for so little money?

The Kihei Surfside is at the north end of the Walea beach, about a quarter mile away, with all the hotels costing $500+ a night.

Our one bedroom condo, with 2 bathrooms, was $145 a night in very good condition including boogie boards and other beach gear. The lawn is enormous and in excellent condition.

Not all of Maui's beaches are protected from the wind like this beach is also.

  • Liked — grat bargain, view, fantastic beach, excellent snorkeling from beach, condo amenities
  • Disliked — nothing,
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west newbury, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

The most fabulous view ever. the unit is lacking in everything.

The bed is so bad that my husband has had to go to the chiropractor and have a message. No amenities at all, no beach chairs, no beach towels, no snorkel gear, pillow are so bad that they make your head bounce.

Do not rent from Resort Quest, only rent from owners. Some of these units have been updated, but this one is awful. This unit is as it was in 1977 when the property was built. The people who own it never come here and have no idea what is going on.

The unit is dirty, bathroom fan is so dirty, disgusting. The curtains in the bedroom are grey, We are sure they where white 30 years ago. The kitchen is not stocked very well, alright for breakfast and lunch, but we have eaten out every night so far.

This unit is in great need of an update, Where are you Mr. Murray, the owner. He needs to either sell, update or not rent.

Definatley not up to the standards. Resort Quest should review there properties yearly and drop the ones that are not up to standards.

This is a beautiful property in a beautiful location, all the units should be reviewed. This one is really gross.

I will be adding photos when I get home so you can all get the jist of what I am saying.. beware of 303.


I

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the unit was old and dirty
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

Our room on the top floor was clean and as usual we brought our own pillows and pillowcases. There's so much to do on the Kihei strip that we ended up not using our rental car very much. Although the nearby beach is rocky, it makes for good snorkeling which we came to Hawaii to do. The kitchen was just average and we only used if for breakfast. Mattresses were firm and the bathroom small

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

We stayed at the Kihei Surfside unit #603 for a week in May 2007. We rented through AA Oceanfront. The unit has a comfortable king bed, which was a nice surprise. Usually the beds in condos break my back. Top floor unit, no one above you. One and 1/2 baths that were recently remodeled, made the stay very comfortable. Lots of new towels. Beach umbrellas and chairs and beach towels for your use. The kitchen still needs to be remodeled however, but wasn't that big of a deal because we don't cook on vacation anyway. We didn't have any problems with noise like some of the other reviewers did. The unit is situated at the beach end of the building directly above the water. Views are north/northwest facing. Good view of West Maui mountains. If you stand in the kitchen facing the living room windows, all you see is ocean. It kind of feels like you are on a ship!
Easy walking distance to Moose's for cocktails (about 10 min. walk). We used Keawakapu beach daily for walks in the morning. Nice beach right next door. I like the location for south Maui beaches because you are right in the middle - at the end of Kihei but near Wailea.
The property management was good. We had an issue with the
refrigerator and it was fixed the same evening while were out to dinner.
Not the fanciest condo we have ever stayed in on Maui, but we don't care since we've been so many times, we are just happy to be in Maui! We are willing to pay less for a mid-range condo so that we can afford to go to Maui more often.
If you don't care about top of the line furnishings but insist on an ocean view, this condo will probably satisfy. The price was right.

P.S. When property managment warns you about locking your sliders at night, take heed. Someone we talked to was robbed while we were there because they left their slider open all night.
No one was hurt. I wouldn't let this scare you away from this complex - this can happen at ANY Maui condo complex, or anywhere else for that matter.

Aloha!

  • Liked — view/location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

My husband and I celebrated our 5th year anniversary in Maui July18-24, We stayed in room 210 and we had no complaints! Our condo was beautiful, clean well stocked with everything we needed. I truly recommend to anyone who doesn't mind not having AC and will be spending most of the time outdoors. GREAT VIEW!

  • Liked — The beautiful view
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoEdmonton, Owner of Unit 210 at Kihei Surfside, responded to this review, March 4, 2008
Thank you for your flattering review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at 210 Kihei Surfside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Stayed in #612, Sep5-11, 2007
1. Condo was very clean. Lots of towels, blankets, utensils (even a rice cooker!) , cutlery, beach towel, beach umbrella, personal rain umbrella. Basic spices.
2. Fridge, microwave, and especially dishwasher seemed brand new.
3. Very nice kitchen. Granite top, island-style.
4. No A/C, but the strong sea breeze made this point moot in September.
5. Flat panel 42" Sharp Aquos was a nice touch!
6. Carpet was very clean.
7. View from lanai was fantastic. Every unit in this building gets a stunning, unobstructed view of the ocean. The farthest end is probably 200 meters from the shore.
8. Internet (cable) connection, but additional $10 per day.

Condo Complex:
1. Was very pretty. Lots of trees and lots of parking.
2. The carpet running the common area was old and stained but was not particularly objectionable.
3. trash disposal on every floor. Fortunately no bad smell
4. pay-per-use washer/dryer on 1st floor was useful
5. very quiet and nice in September. Very few, mostly elderly visitors.
6.management was friendly. Gave us adequate grace to checkout because our flight was late in the evening.
7. walkable distance to three beautiful beaches.
8. away from main Kihei shops, at the same time close enough to get some stuff quickly.
9. the lawn outside is perfectly manicured with nice palm trees.

  • Liked — Clean, functional, great view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelton, wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Stayed at the KSS for 2 weeks (last week of July first wk of Aug). This was our 2nd time to Maui, and the last time we stayed at the Mauna Kai (adjacent to KSS) so i knew the location and was familiar with the grounds. First, if you are going to south maui (ie you like beachin it) consider the KSS or Mauna Kai. As someone said before, the location is UNBEATABLE for that stretch. Anything south, youre paying big wailea prices (and probably aren't researching the KSS anyway! We talked to a guy paying $560 per night at the Makena Surf!) and anything north you are going to have to walk across the street to get to sand-definitely not fun if you've got young kids wanting to swim in the surf, then hit the pool, then eat, then swim again, etc. The grounds are incredible-a HUGE lawn right down to the ocean that you can play ball on barefoot-plus all the other stuff that has already been talked about (you can also check out a croquet set that was a blast for my 5 and 7 year old). So this place has the Mana Kai beat if you have kids-Tons of stuff for you to cycle with beach time so they don't get burned out.
The bad things-found out that the grounds are actually part of a state park (guy might have been yanking my chain) so some locals will come out at night and play Bocca Ball and have few beers-they were cool though and didn't get too loud too late at night. One thing we weren't prepared for was the noise as others have said-we were in #510. First night we had all the windows open and fans going (NO A/C!) and we kept hearing the elevator dinging, and rude people talking loudly even though it was like 11PM (quiet time is 9). The bedrooms are right next to the hall, and when you have your windows open, dude! sounds like they are right at your bedside-If i remember right the rooms at the Mauna Kai are off the hallway unless you have one of the little extra attatched bedrooms.) Finally got to sleep and was woken by some lady screaming at her significant other to stop hitting her and to stop drinking (they were both slammed) I figured that surely the onsite manager would call the cops, as yelling, throwing things, slamming doors continued every 1/2 hour or so from 1AM to 4AM, but nobody called the cops. Talked to MJ (the manager) the next day, and her only soln. was to call 911-gee thanx- However rest of the stay was good. THEY DONT CLEAN YOUR ROOM/WASH YOUR TOWELS & SHEETS like at the Mauna Kai so be aware of that. Also, my wife called after the first day as our room was filthy (dirty fridge, mold all in grout in shower, dirt on floor, etc) so she called our rental contact, and the gal came out the next day and was awesome-no excuses, apologized, and cleaned us up. be aware that with no AC and windows open all day, junk is bound to blow in. By the way, the maintence gal Jenine works harder than anyone and can help with about anything. Sooo, sorry for the long review, but if your spending your hard earned cash, best to learn from others! For me (a guy) great value (we paid like 150 a night for a 1 BR) Didn't bother me the place wasn't the hilton-the grounds made up for it. Other stuff thats good IMHO
Best food: Da Kitchen / Maui Tacos
Best Snorkeling: (We have snorkeled ALL of south Maui-the place right next to the KSS is about the best! Saw everything there. If you want an adventure-hike to aquarium (see maui revealed book) and Ahi Ahi cove were incredible.
Best Beach: Heck, there all ono-get the book and do 2 beaches a day and decide!
Worst place to buy anything: Zacks across the street at Mauna Kai. I had chilli and 2 scoop rice 3 years ago and it was like 2.50 and awesome. New owners now, and its a rip off for Maui!! My wife sent me to buy eggs-6 bucks. Bought a bottled iced tea-3.50. you get the picture.
GET YOUR SNORKEL GEAR AT SNORKEL BOBS!!-snorkel bob himself actually came to our condo to meet my kids (they have his DVD and wrote him a note, and he just showed up!-he works unbeliveably hard to preserve the reefs that we all enjoy-the big thing now is fish poaching for aquariums-which is why you will be hard pressed to see a yellow tang outside any reserve area-pretty sad. All in all a great place-we will stay there again if the Mauna Kai is way more than the surfside when we visit again (the Mauna Kai has a security guy which is a plus, but no lawn for kids to play on) Hope this helps-email me if you got questions-South Maui is da bugga!

  • Liked — Location/Grounds
  • Disliked — Noise and dirty rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kihei Surfside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Surfside

Address: 2936 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kihei Surfside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kihei Surfside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Surfside Hotel Kihei
Kihei Surfside Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kihei Surfside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.