We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oregon Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfing Monkey Shave Ice

Surfing Monkey Shave Ice
1881 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-359-9282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch
Description: Located right next to FoodlandShave Ice Flavors:Wild Cherry * Pineapple * Tigers Blood * Blue Rasberry * Coconut * Root BeerStrawberry * Mango * Pink Bubble Gum * Banana * Guava * Blue VanillaGrape * Passionfruit * Malona * Lemon Lime * Pina Colada * Lychee * Watermelon * Li Hing Mui Small $4.00Large $6.00All syrups are made locally using raw sugar canefreeEXTRAS:Vanilla Ice Cream * Azuki Beans * Sweet Cream * Li Hing Powder * Chocolate Syrup
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oregon Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were very happy with the choices and prices. The employees were very helpful with information on the area we needed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Red beans were too sweet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The shaved ice was chunkier than I expected. The syrup tasted artificial and with combination of red beans, it was too sweet for me. Won't go back there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This was a nice treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stopped here after the beach and it was so good! Good prices and the owner and her kids were so friendly! I would for sure come back again!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Refreshing treat! This shave ice stand is delicious! We stayed in kihei for a week and walked there nearly everyday! The employee was very friendly!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best shave ice I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went to the location next to Foodland. A very friendly British guy runs the stand. I had a root beer shave ice with ice cream on the bottom. It tasted just like a root beer float. We went here almost every day for a shave ice fix. So good , , ,

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfing Monkey Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Surfing Monkey Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfing Monkey Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.