We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit A106 not so god” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kihei Alii Kai

Save Saved
You added Kihei Alii Kai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kihei Alii Kai
2387 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8636   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unit A106 not so god”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a spacious and roomy unit. And the price is right. The attention by Joan Remkus and emergency # help was excellent. But all else are negatives. For someone going to Maui for the first time: Poor view, being on the ground floor, one cannot see the ocean well. Also not private from road. Too far from parking lot. Quite a hike to either parking lot. The Kihei area may be good for a family with kids because of walking distance to lots of activities but as adults, I would not return to Kihei.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Kihei Alii Kai, in unit B-305. Overall, we were very satisfied with the unit itself. The condo is spacious and clean, with a good assortment of amenities (including beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, etc.) The bed was comfortable. We usually stay at the Maui Vista, and in comparison the Kihei Alii has a larger unit, and a larger lanai. The unit has a nice ocean view.

The location was o.k. -- it's set back from Kihei road, which means there's no street noise. Off the lanai, there's an undeveloped area with song birds that was nice. However, beyond that is the ventilation system for the natural food store down on Kihei road, and the noise from that was sometimes distracting. Additionally, we were bothered by cigarette smoke coming from a neighboring lanai in this non-smoking complex.

I wasn't crazy about the condo complex as a whole -- the design is kind of maze-like and ugly -- very little open or green space Also, if stairs are a problem, this is not a place for you -- even when walking on the same floor from the elevator, you'll encounter at least 2 small flights of stairs to get to the unit.

There's a good sized pool area with 2 BBQ grills, but it's not very visually attractive (and it was annoying that you needed a key to both enter AND exit the pool BBQ area.)

Overall, I'd stay there again, but Maui Vista is still my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked B108, both the one bedroom unit and the master suite. I looked a long time before deciding on the Ali'i Kai. We needed something reasonably priced, roomy and did not want to pay Wailea prices. The complex is older but it's in a good location and this unit is back from the road so no traffic noise from busy S. Kihei road. The owner was great to deal with.

The beds were comfortable, the sofa bed was not, but once made up with the extra mattress pads we found stored in the closet it was fine. The kitchen has everything we needed and the owner doesn't clear it out after each guest (perishables of course are removed), so there were some spices, sauces etc. which was nice when you are doing much of your own cooking. The bathrooms were great and the washer/dryer useful. Beach towels & chairs and other random beach items provided.

Really the only con was that the sliding doors are old and we found them hard to open. The unit didn't seem to catch the breeze, so we found it a bit stuffy for sleeping. There is air con, but it's noisy. Being a ground floor unit, for safety reasons we didn't feel we wanted to leave the sliders open at night.

There seem to be renos happening in the complex so if you book a place I'd ask about that. We had some noise from upstairs a couple of days which was a bit of a pain, but not the owner's fault obviously. We were out most of the time enjoying beautiful Maui so it wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

THIS CONDO HAS BEDBUGS!!!
We arrived at Kihei Alii Kai Condo Unit B304 on April 4 2012 at 11:30 pm Maui time, opened the door to the condo and were initially struck by the smell. Since we always check the bedroom first, we went directly there. We pulled back the mattress to find-you guessed it-bedbugs plus their eggs and what looked like bedbug feces. The box spring was infested, it was absolutely disgusting!

The rest of the condo was in need of updating. The drapes were shredded (giving us the ocean view I guess) and the carpets had definitely seen better times. We had no luck trying to contact the owner that night; the condo phone was not operating properly. WI FI didn’t work either. Fortunately, the on-island contact left their name and number and we got a hold of them. They arranged a hotel down the street and we checked in there at 3AM (our time). We emailed the owner when we reached the hotel and the next AM he sent a curt response-no apology for the inconvenience, no indication of remorse and no personal accountability for the state of his condo. All he had to say was:
‘That is interesting because I had a friend from Phoenix that works for a pest control company and he stayed at my unit and said there were NO bedbugs. They stayed in the unit in February because I wanted to have it checked out a third time.
So I have contacted {my on island contact} this morning to get a replacement bed, but I will have that other bed checked out to make sure there weren't any bed bugs in it.

By the looks of this, he didn’t believe us. So, we video taped the little buggers! He doesn’t believe the tape, either. He was also told by other renters that he has an infestation. He didn’t believe them, either. He just keeps on placing this inferior product on VRBO and hopes to get away with it. Sad.

From our research and by speaking with professionals, the only way to remedy the bed bug problem is to gut the condo unit completely. Throw out all furniture, strip carpet and only then, treat it two or three times.

In all fairness, we had read a review alluding to bed bugs in this condo after we had booked it. At that point we freaked and decided to cancel since we were within the grace period. When we confronted the owner on this matter he guaranteed that the problem was resolved. He guaranteed that he would pay for accommodation if there were any bed bugs in the unit. We took him on his word (and his guarantee via email) and warned him that as soon as we arrive we would be checking the bed.

So far, we’ve been given the run around from the owner. He doesn’t return emails or phone calls and is basically hoping we go away. We’ve found more Kihei Alii Kai B304-bed bug reviews on Trip Advisor since arriving back home. The reason we are writing this review is to hopefully, help other travelers to be aware of bed bugs and to encourage them to check their accommodations before traveling-do your homework before you book a place. Check for reviews. Bed bugs not only feed on human blood, they can get ‘attached’ to your flavor and follow you home, in your luggage, clothing, and carry on. Not something you’d want to bring home.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from spending 5 nights here. Well appointed condo situated close to amenities and beach. Very quiet - great sleeps. Loved the view from the balcony - located right beside a green space - lots of birds and tranquility. Had everything we needed and the owner was great to work with. Good value - would definitely book here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Rented this condo for a month from Nov 14 to Dec 14 2011 First day of our holiday we found bed bug feces and live bed bugs on the mattress cover. We also found a white powder spread along the base of the head board. We contacted the owner told him the problem and asked what the white powder was for. The owner claims he was doing a preventative treatment as the complex had a problem. After talking to other owners we didnt hear of anyone else having a problem. We stayed 6 nights sleeping on the fold out in the living room while he organized an exterminator to come. The exterminator came and informed us that the fold out had bed bugs to. The exterminator had taken the cover off the mattress and that displayed evidence of a many more bugs. Someone got feasted on. We were afraid to visit our friends, go to other condo's or complexes in case we took them with us. It was a horrible experience. Without the proper treatments being done and keep renting these units regardless then it will happen. They will become an epidemic. We rented another condo in the same complex with no problems at all. Managed to have three weeks without being paranoid. We never got any compensation. We love Maui and its people. It was a very unfortunate situation that could have been avoided if someone would have just said. Hey I got a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at unit D403. It just finised remodel with new appliances. It need a new mattress or sofa bed. The bad thing about top floor is the heat. They should have insulate the ceiling to save electricity cost & comfort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kihei Alii Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Alii Kai

Address: 2387 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8636
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kihei Alii Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Alii Kai Hotel Kihei
Kihei Alii Kai Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kihei Alii Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.