We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2480 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excelent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were at magical vacation in Hawaii, and we were  staying at this apartments hotel. The very significant advantage of the place is that it is right on the beach, we got a good room, we watched the impressive Hawaii sunsets from the living room of enjoyed hearing the rustle of the waves. We walked on the beach every morning.

In particular we were impressed by the manager who gave us excellent service, he had great recommendations and good tips, he lent us books and tapes tours, recommending restaurants and kosher food and helped us a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    53
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
88
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pollock Pines, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hale Pau Hana in room 201 for nine days, and had other family in several other rooms. We all enjoyed being closer to the beach than any other resort... you can't get any closer without getting wet! The pool and lawn area with BBQ grills were also wonderful for our gatherings. Kasper, Melissa, Eunice and their staff provided great service whenever needed. And the ability to walk to local stores and restaurants right across the street was great. 30 minutes to Kahului and 45 to Lahaina were also very convenient. BIG MAHALO, HPH, WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We loved it here. Being right on the beach was fantastic. I believe this is the biggest selling point. We also enjoyed having breakfast on our balcony with the sights and sounds of the ocean right there. Our room was well-stocked with everything we could need. Staff was very friendly and answered our questions about the area. We also enjoyed several stores and restaurants that were within walking distance. We would love to come here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

There is just nothing better than staying directly on a lovely swimming beach in Maui - not across the street from it, not down the way from it, but directly on it. We spent hours and hours in the beach, reading on the lovely lawn watching the ocean, and watching the sunset either from our condo or on the lawn chairs of the property. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in unit 304. We saved a lot of money by having breakfast and usually one other meal in the condo each day, or using the onsite grills on the lawn. Now, if you want to pay for a big fancy lobby and have room service brought to you, and if you are looking for a resort that is so big you have to take a golf cart just to get to your room, this is not your place. If you are looking for a place where you can walk from your room to the pool or to the ocean in a few steps, and where every room has a view of the ocean, and a place with a friendly feel to it, this is your place.

Room Tip: The advantage of a ground floor room here is that you can walk back and forth from the ocean to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Hale Pau Hana in April of 2014. The property has a gorgeous beachfront perfect for swimming in the ocean and all of the units have a waterfront view. The location couldn't have been better, and we were very happy with our choice of accommodation.

It was our first time in Maui and we had an amazing time. We hope to return soon, and would definitely stay at Hale Pau Hana again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in unit 606 which is privately owned. We rented through VRBO.com. The view was amazing! Fantastic sunsets from our lanai or down on the beach. We were right on a very nice beach and I liked the chill vibe of the place. Perfect central location for other beaches and eating. We could walk right across the street to eat and shop. Our unit itself was very nice with remodeled bathrooms, flat screen TV, king size bed and comfortable furniture. Oh and I loved that it was stocked with chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, even snorkel gear but we did rent our own snorkel gear from Snorkel Bob's. The resort had a nice pool (we never used it but I saw others enjoying it), BBQ, lawn chairs/loungers and a nice lawn that was right off the beach. Parking was easy. We had a fantastic vacation here and I know we'll be back to 606 with our daughters in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four (11 yr old and 14 yr old) stayed at the Hale Pau Hana for 10 days in April 2014 and had a fantastic holiday. We stayed in suite 607 and found the accommodations spacious, clean with all the amenities we needed. The suite has 2 bedrooms (1 with AC) and 2 baths and is located on the corner of the building. The suite has a great view of the beach and the pool. Downsides to the suite are that you do get some traffic noise from the street, the view of the sunset is on a sharp angle but can be seen and the room decor could use some updating.

The grounds at the resort are impeccable, the pool is clean and well maintained and the community BBQ grills are spotless.

We travelled to several different beaches around the Kihei area and felt that the beach right in front of the resort was the best of the ones we visited. The resort is in a great location with restaurants and shopping close by and with a Safeway about a 5 minutes drive from the resort.

There are lots of activities close by. Our family took surfing lessons within a 2 min drive of the resort and also took a snorkelling excursion within 10 min drive from the resort. You can rent boogie boards and other water equipment right across the street from the resort.

We have been on numerous beach vacations and cruises and none compare. We will be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort

Address: 2480 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Condos on the Beach: No other south Maui condo offers vacation rentals that are right on the beach. Unlike other Maui vacation rentals in south Maui, our condo has direct access to the Kihei beach. Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort is Right on Kamaole Beach Park II in south Maui. Every condo rental unit is beachfront and has an ocean view. Only a few steps over the manicured lawn to the soft sandy beach and blue ocean. We combine all the comforts of home and the services of a hotel to make Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort the best "Home away from Home" in paradise. Individually decorated, each condominium offers a complete kitchen, free WiFi, free cable TV and free domestic telephone calls. Vacation paradise on Maui! Experience why guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.