We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 305” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2480 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Unit 305”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed 305 and would definitely stay here again! Its not the cheapest place in Kihei but you are paying to be right on the beach and to watch amazing sunsets each night.

Its also nice to be able to sunbathe on the chairs on the grass and then go into the sea without having to drive/walk/drag stuff to the beach every day.

We rented through the main office and had no issues.

We also liked having two bathrooms. There is only air con in the bedroom, not in the kitchen/lougne but this does not matter because you can just open the doors and let the breeze through and switch a fan on, and there was always a breeze. And listen to the waves at the same time..

We had a great time in Maui, (even though we spent half of one night in a car park due to a tsunami!) and would like to stay at this unit again.

We were close enough to walk to things like Stand up paddle boarding lessons, restaurants and shops. Yes the condos are near the road - where isnt in Kihei? but we never heard any road noise at all and I am a really light sleeper.

Also nice to have a condo with every other day maid service for bin collections and new towels.

Room Tip: Unit 305 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    56
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Talk about location, location, location! This condo complex is directly on the beach. You literally walk out of the complex onto a lovely grass area (with a heated pool) and continue 10 feet to the beach! We were in 507, which had a two-room length lanai. I could see the sun come up over Haleakula and set over the ocean. That's a big "WOW"! And yes, I could hear sounds from the street, but they were mostly beaten out by listening to the ocean tides. And I actually liked checking out the people and places on the other side of the street, anyway.

The condo was stocked with appliances, dishware, etc. Garbage cans were emptied every M, W, and F and you would be restocked with toilet paper and towels at that time if you need it. There was a nice flat screen tv with lots of cable channels and somewhat inconsistent internet. The condo is also cleaned every 7 to 8 days. There was nothing really amazing about the furniture (super soft mattress on my bed!), but there were enough comfortable chairs for us (five people) and visitors for nights of Apples to Apples. And the breeze and sounds of the ocean coming through the sliding doors....simply scrumptious!

Again, I just have to talk about the lanai. I could literally have spent my whole vacation there!
As for the office staff were friendly and helpful and the grounds nicely maintained. There is a laundry room next to the office, which was great. $1.50 for washing and another $1 for drying. Super convenient! I loved this place so much, I bought us all t-shirts!

Room Tip: I stayed in 507, which also looks a bit over S Kihei Road. If you don't want traffic noise, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently stayed in unit 706 the beginning of December. We rented through Ali'i Resorts because they were offering a discount and we knew what unit we were getting.
This unit has been updated and has a modern kitchen and very well maintained. We loved sitting on our lanai and enjoyed seeing and hearing the ocean waves. The unit also looks out at the pool.
The only negative feature was the air conditioning unit. It kept the bedroom cool but the set up was archaic with the cover wiring above the door.
Hale Pau Hana was convenient to many restaurants and shops. Would stay in 706 unit again!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This complex is very well maintained and the front office staff is very friendly. We stayed in Unit 27, a second floor condo. All of the condo units appear to be privately owned so this review is strictly concerning Number 27. The absence of air conditioning in the whole condo was a problem for us on our four day stay. This side of the island was not getting very much of a breeze and this unit does not lend itself to any cross ventilation, even if you open the small window over the front door. It was extremely hot in the living room and kitchen and we had to either stay on the balcony or in the bedroom, where the small window style air conditioner was, to get any relief from the heat. This unit did not have a dining table but only a bar like setup with bar stools. The internet access was via a hard wired modem so if you have a tablet or cell phone don't expect to be able to acess the internet. The beach in front of the condos was very nice and the pool area was very well maintained with lots of chaise lounge chairs to use.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying in the condo's be prepared for a hot living room and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 days for our wedding and honeymoon. I booked through mauicondos.com - Jill was great and found us a great condo, exactly what we wanted: oceanfront and modern. Unit 706 has a beautiful new kitchen, 1 bedroom and 2 bath. It was perfect for the 2 of us. There's a flat screen tv and the balcony was so great to have breakfast on. It's on the main drag in Kihei so we were able to walk everywhere! It wasn't noisy or crowded or anything. We loved it here and will definitly stay here again. All the "neighbors" were nice, the BBQ areas are nice and big and the beach in front wasn't crowded but was really beautiful. We saved a lot of money compared to if we stayed at a big hotel. Condos are our new favorite! Our friends stayed at Hale Hui Kai #303 1 mile south and that place was great too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Review of Hale Pau Hana #28(low rise) where we stayed Dec. 10-28, 2011. We rented through VRBO, owner Les. I like booking through VRBO but I share an experience which shows the disadvantages when problems occur.

HPH-Positives: FABULOUS LOCATION on the beach, near restaurants & shops, snorkeling right from the beach etc. BBQ, Tuesday before Christmas, Santa and elves arrived on the beach (HPH organizes annually).

HPH Negatives: The first few days the pool was not heated and the barbeques were not working either because HPH was waiting to get propane delivered.There were several units undergoing renos, above, beside and below us. Whether anyone could have predicted that 6 months earlier when we booked is debatable but it is good to ask. I was surprised at the amount of construction noise during one of the big weeks of the year.

HPH-#28
Positives-Well stocked kitchen with all the cooking utensils and the use of various condiments. It was great that we didn’t need to buy items when I only needed for a tablespoon. This end unit has an extra window, looking down the beach.

Negatives: The bedroom faces the street so lots of traffic noise, day and night. We found the air conditioning and fans rattled a lot and were noisy. It took us a while to figure out the coolest/ quietest way to sleep. We ended up sleeping in the living room with the sliding doors open.

I’m a sucker for rattan, tropical fabrics and pictures, shells and fish so I liked the décor more than my husband. When we got to know some other guests and owners and saw other one bedroom units that had been updated we were disappointed to discover that we were paying about the same. The décor is very dated and the owner said they plan to update but the VRBO photos are the same now as I write.

Plumbing problems: We were without a bathroom sink for 5 days and that was a nuisance - every time my husband shaved, and whenever we needed to brush our teeth, wash our faces or hands, rinse out swimsuits etc. – and that’s a lot times each day- we had to use the kitchen sink. We were disappointed about how the issue was handled by the owner. We couldn’t reach the person he had told us to contact if there was problem. Another owner called Les back in California. But when Les called us the first thing he asked my husband was could we fix the problem and then said well, you can use the kitchen sink. That was not the response we wanted. Then we didn’t hear from him again. The plumber arrived 5 days later. After we returned, I asked for a $100 back for the hassle and Les did provide that which we appreciated.
Usually it is worth booking directly with an owner to get a lower rate. In this case, the savings weren’t huge and if we had booked through the office the issue would have been dealt with much more quickly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Maui and we have stayed at the Hale Pau Hana each time. While the resort has always been beautiful during each stay, during this visit the grounds and facilities are the best we have ever seen. The recently renovated pool was perfect. Most of the exterior improvements can be attributed to their new property manager Mike, a tireless worker who takes great pride in the resort.

The actual rooms are condos with absentee owners. That means the furniture, decor, appliances, etc are replaced or updated by the owner, not the resort. For that reason, there can be some major differences between the quality of the units. Photos on the resort website can help with your selection.

This resort is directly on the beach. There are no streets to cross and you don't have a long walk to the beach. It is litterally a matter of steps to get to the fantastic beach from each unit.

Room Tip: The rooms are owned by individuals, not the resort. As such, there is a marked difference between u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort

Address: 2480 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Condos on the Beach: No other south Maui condo offers vacation rentals that are right on the beach. Unlike other Maui vacation rentals in south Maui, our condo has direct access to the Kihei beach. Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort is Right on Kamaole Beach Park II in south Maui. Every condo rental unit is beachfront and has an ocean view. Only a few steps over the manicured lawn to the soft sandy beach and blue ocean. We combine all the comforts of home and the services of a hotel to make Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort the best "Home away from Home" in paradise. Individually decorated, each condominium offers a complete kitchen, free WiFi, free cable TV and free domestic telephone calls. Vacation paradise on Maui! Experience why guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.