We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Paddle Sports

Hawaiian Paddle Sports
44 Koki Place, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-442-6436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 99 Activities in Kihei
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Kayak and Outrigger Canoe Snorkel Tours. Surf Lessons, SUP (Stand Up Paddleboard) Hawaiian Paddle Sports offers a private alternative for Ocean Activities on Maui! If going out on crowded, diesel burring boat isn't your idea for ocean activities and you'd rather avoid going out with one of Large Kayak Companies or Surf Schools perhaps we are what you are looking for! We focus on attention to detail and the over all guest experience. Guide operated, Hawaiian Paddle Sports sets the bar for ocean activities on Maui. Whale Watching and Sea Turtle Snorkel Tours on Hawaiian Outrigger Canoes, Ocean Kayaks. We also offer "Guaranteed To Surf" Surfing Lessons or Stand Up Paddle Boards. All of our tours/lessons are Private.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We did the kayaking and snorkeling package and had a great experience. We met our guide Chelsea at 7:00am and she was really happy and excited to get us out kayaking. She was really attentive and checked to see if we were ok by offering us water and asking us what we wanted to do. Hawaiian paddle sports also sent us photos of our snorkeling adventure that were taken by our guide, so that we were able to enjoy the day without worrying about photos (We saw lots of turtles!). It felt like we were paddling with a friend instead of feeling like a tourist. We also booked surfing with Hawaiian Paddle Sports, which was equally as amazing. Our instructor, China, allowed us to surf at our own pace.

Awesome company! Instructors were friendly! Can't wait to come back and book other adventures!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiianPaddleSports, Manager at Hawaiian Paddle Sports, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
"it felt like we were paddling with a friend rather than feeling like tourists" thats the best i've heard it said and exactly what we are going for at Hawaiian Paddle Sports. Our guest choose us because they want a private, authentic, unique experience and DON'T want to just be a Number. Our guides also appreciate that we only offer private tours because it gives them a chance to connect with our guests instead of trying to manage 15 kayaks all going in different directions! I'm glad I came across this review, thank you very much for reminding me that our business model truly is No Ka Oi (the best) We hope to see you again soon!
-Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a great experience kayaking and swimming with the turtles! Our guide was very knowledgeable and you could tell that he really loves to guide out of towners like us. :-)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“COMPLETELY EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The reviews did not steer us wrong, and neither did Tim (or our guide Hollis) at Hawaiian Paddle Sports. We were the only couple on the morning of our excursion it it couldn't have been better! Our guide, Hollis, was extremely knowledgeable about the waters and the surroundings -- taught us quite a few interesting facts and kept it fun. He also didn't "waste" out time by having us snorkel just anywhere -- he searched out and found the best spot for us and we swam with those enormous turtles -- and he took pictures of us as well which was a welcomed surprise. We had such a great time, a definite highlight of our week. Thanks Tim and Hollis for making it great!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional paddling and snorkelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had an amazing outrigger canoe paddling adventure today. The weather was perfect but more than that, Tim and Jen made it an incredible experience for us. They were kind to us "newbies" and knowledgeable about Maui and the Hawaiian islands. We saw MANY turtles and also a rare Monk Seal! That really capped off the day for us. Mahalo and a hui hou kakou! Next year ... with friends!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiianPaddleSports, Owner at Hawaiian Paddle Sports, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
It was a pleasure having you guys on the tour today! You were GREAT Paddlers and picked it up easily. The Monk Seal was a great treat as we very rarely see them! We reported the Monk Seal sighting to NOAA's Monk Seal Monitoring Program so they can keep track of her.... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time kayaking and snorkeling with Hollis and Levi. We had never kayaked before, but were very interested in trying the kayaking/snorkeling combo since we live by the water and had been searching for a snorkeling platform to get to some of the more remote spots. Hollis was a great teacher, not only covering paddling fundamentals, but also showing us how to anchor and giving tips on exiting and re-entering the kayak without tipping over. Hollis also went out of his way to take some terrific pictures of us kayaking and even dove into the water below us to get shots of us snorkeling with some incredible turtles! He put them on picassa and we were able to immediately post them on facebook to brag about our experience. We enjoyed it so much we've decided to buy a kayak when we get home.

Our adventure continued the next day when Hollis taught us to surf for the first time! What a blast! I was able to stand up on my board after a few tries and I loved it! Thanks Hollis, these are special experiences we will always remember when we think of our trip to Maui!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Paddle Sports also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Hawaiian Paddle Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Paddle Sports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.