We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kihei is the Man!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Wave Riders

Maui Wave Riders
2021 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96761
808.875.4761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 83 activities in Kihei
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: MWR is a family owned and operated business dedicated to providing surfing lessons to each student with a fun, safe and unforgettable surf experience. We adapt our style of teaching to the ability of each student. We will go that extra mile to make your surf experience the most memorable highlight of your vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kihei is the Man!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Kihei our surf instructor was awesome. My son and I really enjoyed learning from him. A ton of fun. This is an easy and cool way to learn how to surf.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    27
    0
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very cool experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and my son had semi-private lessons with Kekoa. He was great! Both of them were surfing in no time me my son even learned some fancy footwork! Would definitely recommend them- thanks Kekoa!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surfing Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I wanted to try surfing. I'm not a great swimmer and was nervous. I did my surf lesson with Maui Wave Riders on July 13. Al, our group instructor was great. He was patient and relaxed. It was a small group--just five of us--and I felt like i received the attention needed and was very comfortable in the water. It was great fun. And, after you're done with the lesson, you can rent the equipment for the rest of the day at no additional cost. This makes it a great value too. I would highly recommend MWR. I would definitely do it again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Something to experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Surfing is something my son and I enjoyed experiencing during our stay in Maui. From the first lesson to walking the board off the beach, Kilkea "handsome" and crew made us feel like part of the family the at MWR. We had a great time and we both were standing as instructed. Now all we need is a beach with surf and board to do it at home. Hopefully, we will be doing this again very soon. Mahalo!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white hall
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surf lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Maybe not the best value but lots of fun. It was crowded at the beach we were using but it's not like we were experts. We had fun and the instructor tried his best with us. A surf lesson is a must for Maui

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Wave Riders also viewed

 

Been to Maui Wave Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Wave Riders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maui Wave Riders to your Saves list