We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo much fun!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Wave Riders

Maui Wave Riders
2021 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96761
808.875.4761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 99 Activities in Kihei
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MWR is a family owned and operated business dedicated to providing surfing lessons to each student with a fun, safe and unforgettable surf experience. We adapt our style of teaching to the ability of each student. We will go that extra mile to make your surf experience the most memorable highlight of your vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sooo much fun!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011 via mobile

I love MVR!! I book lessons and my surfboard with them every year I go to Maui and I always have a blast!!! All the staff and instructors are great and I especially liked big Al!!!
No matter what your age or ability, you will Be riding waves!!! A gauranteed great time for the whole family!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    28
    1
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maui Wave Riders is the best surf school in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Maui Wave Riders is by far one of the best attractions in Hawaii! The instructors are local, amazing, and sooo good with kids and people. Booking a reservation was so easy to do online! My family is so happy we will recommend MWR to all of our friends and family. The lessons, rentals, quality time and the people made it so enjoyable. A special thank you to Samantha for booking our reservations and helping us decide what kind of lesson best suited our family and a special thank you to Monika in the office who helped us with rentals after our lessons and gave us pointers about SUP. You guys rock as does everyone at MWR!!!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise,ID
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Got the kids Surfing lessons. Not sure who to use. They all had good and bad reviews. Tried this one and was very happy. We went to the Kihei location. Not a great beach very rocky but it turned out to be a good place to learn. The lesson was a bit short due to the group being worn out not them trying to shortchange us. Al. the instructor offered to take them out for another half hour but the kids were too tired. They each caught many waves to ride and were very happy with the lesson. The instructor was great as was the company to deal with. The only drawback is the website shows a price of 60 dollars and we were charged 62. So verify the price before you make reservations.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Renten rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had two surf lessons (Lahaina location) while on Maui this trip and the second day our instructor was Renten. Not only is he an awesome instructor, but he managed to get me to stay on the board and not end up in the water! Amazing! We'll definitely return on our next trip...and will be requesting Renten! He's an excellent teacher and an all-around great guy!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maui Wave Riders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Our son talks about surfing since him and dad tried it last year with MWR. He went again this year and had a great experience. Our son was 5 the first year. Never too young and never too old.

Renton is a great instructor...we requested him again this year and will again in the future. Thanks Renton!!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Wave Riders also viewed

 

Been to Maui Wave Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Wave Riders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.