We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 808 Bistro

808 Bistro
2511 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-879-8008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 143 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: American Style bistro serving refined comfort food for dinner, prices under $22. You are welcome to bring your own beer or wine with $5/table corkage fee. Open air dinning, ocean view, and natural air conditioning. Now open for Breakfast, 7am to noon. Featuring veggie browns, banana bread french toast and award winning omelets.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Be surprised with this café in a local "strip mall"
Very casual dining.
Dinner was exceptional.
Creative, well prepared, excellent flavors abound.
Inexpensive when compared with similar hotel offerings.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    218
    55
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WAIT! Read this before you plan all your dinner's in Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were just in Maui staying in the Kaanapali Beach area. While this is a very nice resort area, most of the restaurants in this area are overpriced and leave much to be desired. We were told to go down to the Kihei area one evening (about a 45 minute drive) and watch the Sunset from this area. Kihei has 3 beaches referred to K1, K2 and K3. If you park near K1 or K2, you should bring your own drinks and watch the sunset. Then head over to Bistro 808, which is also BYOB (so that will save you on your dinner tab) and enjoy the amazingly unique menu.

We were actually told to go to dinner a Fred's, a Mexican Cantina, but when we walked up with our mixed drinks we made from the trunk of our car to watch the sunset, we were greeted with the Fred's hostess telling us we could not come in and to finish our drinks outside. So that is what we did and we saw the menu posted for Bistro 808 just next door. They let us come in with our drinks since they are BYOB and we enjoyed some of the best food (appitizers and dinner) made with the most unique recipes we have had in quite sometime. Our only regret is we found this restaurant the last night we were in Maui and if we had found it sooner, we would have returned for a second meal since there were so many other interesting things on the menu we wanted to try.

The most expensive Entree on the menu was $29 with most Entrees in the teens or low twenty's. Very reasonable for such gourmet dishes.

This will be a "must return" next time we are in Maui or hear of friends going there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't miss this Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was soo amazing! 
My only regret is that we didn't find this place until the night before we left Maui. :( We drove 45 minutes from Ka'anapali Beach to watch the sunset and eat here and we would do it again if we had another night on the island. Best food we had in Hawaii!! 

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go just for the banana bread French toast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Service was good but it was weirdly empty. Good breakfast. Best meal was the banana bread French toast. Really good! I had the short rib omelette.good not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPasotexa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner inMaui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The place I good they recommended the place to us it was very good. Service a A+ we enjoyed too much food .we had a fun time

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 808 Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 808 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 808 Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.