We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 808 Bistro

808 Bistro
2511 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-879-8008
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 137 restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: American Style bistro serving refined comfort food for dinner, prices under $22. You are welcome to bring your own beer or wine with $5/table corkage fee. Open air dinning, ocean view, and natural air conditioning. Now open for Breakfast, 7am to noon. Featuring veggie browns, banana bread french toast and award winning omelets.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is worth dining at. The food quality and flavor for the price is much better than any restaurant we have been to in Kihei.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    471
    201
    47
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome all the way around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

After reading some reviews on Tripadvisor we thought we would check out the 808 Bistro as we were staying not far away at the Sugar Beach Resort and we have to say it was one of the best meals and best deals we've had on any of the Hawaiian Islands! We decided to both try the $25 Sunset Menu deal (runs 5 p.m. to 6 p.m.) which consisted of a salad/soup, your choice of 3 different entrees and also a choice of 3 different desserts. We both had the salad, mango (hers) and balsamic (me) dressings and although both were good, hers was better....then the entree....we both decided on the braised boneless ribs and it was superb! The sauce was mustard based and was absolutely delicious! The portion was so large that we barely had room for dessert and both decided on the Hawaiian bread with vanilla ice cream, which was also delicious although we could not finish it. We were seated outside on the patio and had an excellent garden/ocean view. The service was also excellent. Overall we loved it and plan on going back! Definitely try the 808 Bistro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nommy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Four words for you: Banana Bread French Toast.

Or, for you carnivores, there are tons of egg and meat choices available.

Food was good with 2 meals for about $30 with tip. Service was excellent and the there were nice seats available on a weekday morning.

xox

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This little bistro is great! They offer a sunset special that includes a soup/salad, entree, and desert for $25. An AMAZING price without skimping on quality. We had the pork chops and ribs and they were incredible. We made a reservation to be sure we had a table that had an ocean view. You can bring your own wine/adult beverage for a $5 cork fee. Not a problem. Have a few drinks at your resort and walk a few blocks and have a great meal. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited Maui on our honeymoon last September and came across 808 Bistro one night on a venture to find good food outside of our resort. Our handy Trip Advisor app led us to this restaurant and we were so happy it did. We ordered the flat iron steak and the boneless briased short ribs - both amazing! We came back a second night (unusual for me because I like to try as many different places as we can in a new city). Its also BYOB which is great. I definitely recommend if you are in the area and looking for an awesome dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 808 Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 808 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 808 Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.