We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset dinner just awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 808 Bistro

808 Bistro
2511 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-879-8008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: American Style bistro serving refined comfort food for dinner, prices under $22. You are welcome to bring your own beer or wine with $5/table corkage fee. Open air dinning, ocean view, and natural air conditioning. Now open for Breakfast, 7am to noon. Featuring veggie browns, banana bread french toast and award winning omelets.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner just awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Covered but open air restaurant. We had the sunset special dinner set. Hubby had the veggie bisque (?) and pork chops. Best soup he has ever tasted, he gave it a 10 (I have yet to get a mark higher than 8.5 from him in all of my two years of cooking)! I had some kind of salad and braised ribs. Braised ribs were quite tasty.

Take part of the sunset and enjoy the dinner special! Small and full parking lot so plan on parking elsewhere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    242
    59
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I wanted to find a nice place for our last dinner in Kihei. We had some family that I wanted to meet up with and I wanted somewhere that took a reservation, was still casual, and had a decent BYOB service. 808 Bistro really fit everything! First of all, BYOB is very popular in Kihei. BUT, few places had wine glasses and wine buckets and a place that you really want a nice meal with your nice wine. This Bistro is just great! The menu ROCKS! They have actual wine glasses and wine buckets... and the kicker... NO corkage fee! I will forever be telling people to go there! The service was great and the food was excellent. Around the table we had most things... the braised ribs (a favorite) a braised short rib pot pie (amazing!) fish was excellent and their 808 salad was the best one I had on Maui. I can't wait to come back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food without breaking the bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate there twice, great food, great portions.. Met the owner both times as he was walking around checking on things both nights we were there, very nice guy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food here was great. I had the pene pasta in a blue cheese Alfredo and it was delicious. I had some of my husbands short rib as well and it was equally yummy! We were a paty of 6 and each had 3 courses- the bill was only $200. I can't think of anywhere I can go for 3 great courses for under $35 per person including tax and tip. We will definitely go back next time we are on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved having this little bistro very close to our accomadations in Kehei, also pleasantly surprised to have gluten free sandwiches on the menu. Good food and reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 808 Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 808 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 808 Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.