We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut's Fish Cafe

Coconut's Fish Cafe
1279 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-875-9979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The best fish and chips on the island. Food - Price - Value = #1

Better than a lot of the hotels / happy hours in the area - Hands Down

Don't waste your time at area happy hours - get the fish and chips / tacos / burger go to store and buy a nice bottle of wine - head to beach. Best time your have on maui ! ! !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    341
    88
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Selections limited, but good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a great spot, and tends to get busy. Patrons sit at wood surfboard tables, sometimes with strangers. Nice place to get to know others. The menu is not filled with many selections, but the food is well prepared, and served hot! Worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We ate at Coconut's at the recommendation of our hotel and the fish tacos were outstanding...as good as advertised.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Every trip to Maui must include Coconut's fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I been to Maui 3 times and have eaten at Coconut's at least 5 times and I was very satisfied each time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must-go place when on Maui!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stop at Coconuts right from the airport every time we come to Maui. We like the grilled mahi-mahi sandwiches (the wheat buns are awesome!). We ask for an olive oil and salt and pepper preparation to make them a little healthier, but the coleslaw they put on these delicious sandwiches probably cancels out our healthy intentions! Portions of fries are generous and yummy, but don't miss the onion rings. So good! The fish tacos are also really delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut's Fish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.