We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Best bang for the buck in Maui!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut's Fish Cafe

Coconut's Fish Cafe
1279 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-875-9979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 135 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! Best bang for the buck in Maui!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Found this place randomly on our way to Wailea from the airport. The food is fantastic and the owner is an ex-bay area native that comes and says hi to everyone. I think it's the only good place to eat in Kihei.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,313
    431
    114
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Local Dive DeliversTaste Extrodinare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stumbled upon this place while walking through town after miles of enjoying the local beaches. It looked like a nice place to grab a light meal and had a good fan base of customers. Turns out it has a great Zagat review and received local attention for the best tacos on the island for the past few years. Yum, we ordered a round of the fresh fish cakes with cold slaw and passed on the fresh fries. The flavors were fantastic....and the next day while we were planning our high end foody dinner, my travel companion was still looking for a way to have the tacos for dinner again! Will definitely come back and hoping for a smart franchiser to pick up on this for our area!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevelry hills
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Seriously, no joke. A great family owned place with amazingly unique fish tacos. My 6 and 9 year old call them heaven. We get off the plane and head straight there for our first meal on the island. If you miss this place you'll really miss something special.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish taco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It is worth the trip from where very you are coming from. If you like a reasonably priced meal without the frills Coconuts is fantastic. The service, staff and portions sizes are over the top.
Keep it up!
We will be back before our return to the mainland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had their seafood chowder, fish taco and burger. Everything tasted really yummy. The price was very reasonable too! Liked the decor of the place too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut's Fish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.