We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco for Coconuts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut's Fish Cafe

Coconut's Fish Cafe
1279 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-875-9979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $9 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Coconut's Fish Cafe, located in the center of Kihei. Coconut's Fish Cafe serves up Maui's finest food with exciting dishes and unique ambiance. At Coconut's Fish Cafe, every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We never use microwaves and everything is cooked to order. We serve only the choicest cuts of seafood. Whether you choose to dine at our one-of-a-kind surfboard tables or take-out, our authentic menu and atmosphere make us a must-stop dining experience.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Coco for Coconuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Do not let the strip mall location fool you - do not think the positive reviews are too good to be true. Coconuts is the place for fish tacos, or anything else on the menu. Been there twice this week. I don't even like cole slaw but they use coconut milk, not mayo, so that's extra credit in my book. Friendly staff, clean place, fresh food. I'm coco for coconuts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    339
    88
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We tried Coconut's Fish Cafe and was very happy with the food. I had the Fish and Chips which included MahiMahi and Ono. My wife had the Shrimp and chips. We were very pleased with the food as it was not greasy and full of batter.. These meals also included Coleslaw which was made with coconut milk. All food is made from scratch everyday and they cater to healthy eating. Most of the food is Lo-cal. If you get a chance try Coconut's Fish Cafe. The prices was pretty good for Maui. We found out they have one in Scottsdale and we plan on trying it out soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are looking for good seafood, especially fish tacos then this is the place to go to. The fish tacos were huge and so tasty. It is by far the most popular item on the menu. My wife got the fish n chips which were also solid. We came for lunch and the line was out the door, but it moves quickly. After we finished our meal, we could see why this place was so popular. I can't wait to be back in Maui and order some more fish tacos from here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Hype is Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

All the morning's vigorous activity by the beach resulted in a massive hunger attack - it was off to Coconut's Fish Cafe to satisfy the need for food. This placed is hyped a lot and surprisingly it met my expectations - it was lunch so we split an order of Fish Tacos - messy and so very flavorful - one of the few times the hype was right on.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“really really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We made a point to eat here again this year as we were so pleased last year and were not disappointed. Very good fish tacos. I intended to take one home but somehow ate both. Will definitely come back to eat here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut's Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coconut's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut's Fish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.