We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuatro Restaurant

Cuatro Restaurant
1881 S. Kihei Road, Suite 3, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 879-1110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 144 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Asian, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Seattle
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Quality little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Really good salads, fresh beautifully prepared fish, famous NY steak pupus in Asian sauce, crab cakes delicately minced...... And the caramel- sauced fresh fruit with ice cream atop. We keep coming back here whenever we're in Kihei. It's stuck away in a quiet corner of a shopping center on S Kihei - we were staying nearby, but it would be okay to drive from further to get this quality of service and cuisine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    80
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Fish entree's delicious and the presentation was lovely. The service was friendly and timely. One small negative we did feel a little rushed with our meal. Will definitely return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Looking for an intimate restaurant with superb food?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Cuatro is it! We ate at Mama's, Tommy's and Advar(sp?) and decided to try to find a small, intimate place. Even though my partner's motto is " never go back" she wishes that we had gone here twice..... and so do I. The quality, presentation and service were outstanding. Our travels will take us to other locales before we return to Maui but we'll always wonder "what if we did go back".

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Definitely must try this. Best fish we have ever eaten. Reasonable prices. Amazing service. BYOB. Best place to eat in Maui.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just back from a dining extravaganza in Maui - wonderful, tasty and unique offerings found in Cuatro Restaurant in Kihei. This tiny restaurant seating 30 diners provided us a meal to remember. Unfortunately, we discovered this place on the last night of our trip, otherwise we would certainly have revisited it. Try the white truffle mashed potatoes, the fresh fish and the fabulous salad topped with macadamia nuts. Just right - and enough for sharing. (unlike other salads in other restaurants). I had the stir fry, and though it was good, it would not have been the best dish for demonstrating the restaurant's unique flavor. I would recommend the fish dishes, prepared in one of four ways. The dessert was to adore - caramel with fruit, coconut ice cream/ vanilla - just right for sharing. (I am still thinking about that dessert.)
And don't you just enjoy when the restauranteur and wait staff love their jobs??? Welcome to Cuatro - you really won't be sorry. On par with fine Chicago restaurants. Kuddos to Eric, the owner, and Gary, our waiter. Thank you for a fabulous evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuatro Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cuatro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuatro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.