We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent activity for all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kayaks

Maui Kayaks
Makena Landing, Kihei, Maui, HI
808-874-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 99 Activities in Kihei
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent activity for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

very enjoyable experience. John (our guide) was friendly and knowledgeable and took us to some good snorkeling spots. I would highly recommend this activity. 5 years ago we did a snorkeling tour by boat and I felt that this tour was far better as there was more time snorkeling and a lot less people.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review! we are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    10
    1
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kayaking/Snorkeling at Makena Landing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a fabulous time. Saw lots of marine life. Our guide was great, very knowledgeable. I am not a strong swimmer and have a bit of a bad shoulder but the kayaking was easy, not strenuous at all and wore a life jacket so the snorkeling was easy as well. Will go again next time we visit Maui.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to give us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip and had such a good experience with us! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Makena Landing, kayak/snorkel off Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great kayak trip with John! He was very good with the instructions for our mixed 6 couple group (3 pairs of strangers). Everyone had a great time. The weather was fantastic, but knowing where to go to get the "friendly" turtles was key to our trip. Plus having the star fish brought up to our attention was more fun. Lunch was great, too!
Mahalo

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that your group enjoyed the tour and that everything went so well! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kayaking and Snorkelling on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I did the 3 hour kayak/snorkel trip from Makena Landing on Maui. I love to kayak but have never mastered snorkelling and was quite nervous about it. Well, after this trip I can say I will definitely snorkel again. We had the best guide - Kale'o - a Hawaiian who snorkelled with us and pointed out lots of things for us to see. He is extremely knowledgeable and not a bad singer! He knows lots of Beatles, Jimmy Buffet, etc. and even sang some Hawaiian for us. Besides the usual pretty fish we saw turtles, rays, and a blacktip shark. For someone who is not a strong kayaker, this trip is perfect. You don't kayak very far and it is a nice, slow easy pace. Thank you Kale'o!!

Next time I am in Maui I'll do the 5 hour trip - kayaking to turtle town and snorkelling there.

PS don't forget to tip your guide!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your great review! We are really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and that you'll be back! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never showed up!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked 2.5 weeks in advance for a kayak/snorkel excursion in Olowalu, Maui. When we arrived, they never showed up! In talking with another operator (Jeremiah from Kelii's Kayak Tours), we learned that they discontinued their Olowalu excursions between our time of booking and when the actual excursion occurred and never bothered to let us know.

Jeremiah and Kelii's Kayak Tours saved the day for us by working with Maui Kayaks to get us transferred to his tour.

My recommendation: Don't book with Maui Kayaks. Book with Kelii's Kayak Tours instead.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiKayaks, Manager at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
aloha,

We called you twice before your trip, on the number you provided, and left two messages asking you to call us and in the messages let you know we would be changing locations. We did not hear back from you so could not let you know of the new location. The reason that we have discontinued our Olowalu trip is that recently the state of Hawaii no longer allows tour operators to use the Olowalu location as it is State land that is not available for commercial use. The other companies that are operating from that location are doing so illegally and have been warned and fined for the violation. We are only trying to uphold the laws of our state and are sorry if you did not get our messages trying to relocate you for your trip with us. We strive to be a company that does what is right and as you can see by our many 5 star reviews we do just that.

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Maui Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Kayaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.