We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-Rate Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kayaks

Maui Kayaks
Makena Landing, Kihei, Maui, HI
808-874-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 99 Activities in Kihei
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First-Rate Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Upon our arrival at the shop we found out we were the only ones signed up for that particular tour. No problem. A private kayaking adventure! Our guide, Noah, was terrific. He quickly and accurately assessed our skill level and what we would be capable of doing. As we were only interested in kayaking - not snorkeling - we wondered whether we'd be able to fill up two hours. We could have stayed out for four hours, there was so much to see. We paddled and paddled and paddled, visited spots we felt completely comfortable visiting under his watchful eye, and ended up having a wonderful adventure. A great morning! So much fun and so relaxing, too, being out on the water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for giving us such a positive review! We are glad our tour lived up to your expectations and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    10
    1
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of the Best of Many wonderful things to do in Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've Been vacationing in Maui for more than 15 years and Maui Kayak has been one of the things we've done repeatedly... Both because it is a great experience and because it can be as similar or different than the previous trip as you would like.

The last two times John has been our guide and he has been fantastic. Not only is he a great guide but also extremely knowledgable about underwater photography (so a two-for-one) and to top it off, they put together an excellent lunch with fresh meat, fruit, etc.

And finally, the review wouldn't be complete without saying 'aloha' to King Kamayomayo! ;-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We love to hear about return clients and to know that we are doing a good job. Your opinion is very important to us. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Guide makes it worth the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The guide that we had was wonderful. I am not able to spell his name, although he told us to call him Mr K. At launch he wanted to know what we wanted to see. We told him an octopus and shark. He found us an octopus amongst a ton of other amazing creatures he brought up to show us. He was very knowledgeable and very fun to be around. Even though I now know where to go to see snorkel and see sea life I would still book another trip with Mr K cause he makes that extra effort to make sure you see what you want to see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write a review! We are so glad you enjoyed our "Mr K (Kaleo),we will let him know. Our guides are among the best you will find on Maui, always ready to go the extra mile to ensure happy customers and you are proof that we are on the right track. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“was the highlight of our Maui vacation (Mr. K is great!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Based on the online reviews, I requested Mr. K (or Kaleo or "Hawaiian"), and as the other reviewers have said, he was terrific. Extremely knowledgeable and authentic and fun. Unfortunately he wasn't able to find us an octopus or shark on our tour but he still pointed out a lot of things and my girls (ages 6 and 9) were able to touch things like a pincushion sea star and a slate pencil sea urchin--he taught us the Hawaiian names too but I've forgotten them already.
Hubby always wanted to bring kids kayaking but I was worried about safety--this kayak tour was perfect--I had no concerns.
In addition, the person answering the direct phone line (I assume it was an owner type guy) spent a lot of time with me talking through how to make the tour fun for my 6 year old--reassuring me about the life jackets, discussing whether or not to have her use snorkel gear or not--his suggestion of just bringing her goggles was spot on!!!
Even though the girls decided to stay on the kayaks at the 2nd snorkel spot, they still had a wonderful and memorable time, the older one seeing 7 turtles total and the younger one seeing 4 (for the younger one, mostly from the kayak!).
I really encourage any families with kids to take this snorkel tour. My husband and I have done the boat tours to Molokini and the kayak/snorkel tour is WAY BETTER. You see so much more and get a much better appreciation for the wildlife and natural beauty of the island.
My husband is already looking forward to being able to do the 5 hr tour next!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad our tour met your expectations and more. We work hard to have satisfied customers and are glad that you are one of them. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Super awesome family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Kaleo, our guide from Maui Kayaks, was amazing. In our group we had kids 8-13 to adults in their 40s, 50s and 60s.
He explained everything from safety, what we might see, how to snorkel and how to paddle a kayak.
Not only did Kaleo have our safety come first, but he got in the water with us and knew all the names of the sea life we were lucky enough to see.
Besides hundreds of fish and many turtles we got to see an octopus up close and personal, which was the absolute highlight for everyone.
Thank you, Kaleo from all of us for an amazing time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social m, Administrator at Maui Kayaks, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a positive review! We will certainly let Kaleo know how happy you were with him. Maholo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Maui Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Kayaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.