We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Schooner Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Schooner Resort
Save
You added Maui Schooner Resort to your Saves list
980 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Eagle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Loved the 2 bedroom condo. We had a view of the ocean from the 3rd floor. Pool /jacuzzi was very nice. Loved the shuffle board and being able to walk to the beach. Gardens are beautiful! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    55
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
43
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Camw with my wife two daughters son-in-law and grand daughters. They loved the time. Units large spacious well equipped. Will return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Wonderful, quiet resort. Cleanliness is very good and the grounds are impeccable. It's a dated condo but the upkeep is impressive - upgrades are underway. Staff are very "accommodating". Have stayed there a couple of times and would definitley return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times. Lots of repeat guets,so that should tell you something. Located at the North end of Kihei, this resort is a good central location from which to visit any attraction on Maui. Units have completely equipped kitchen, plus Bar B ques by pool. Mostly timeshare owners here, but rentals often available. Restaurants and grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived Christmas day and left New Years day. These are older units but kept up and they are in the middle of a remodel project. Th e staff are very helpful and appreciated that the resort has a room where we could come back to shower and clean up after checking out as check out time was 10am and we did not fly out till 11pm. I had requested a third floor unit and we were able to get that and we also were ablt to see the beach from the side view of our lanai. Also had a great view of the pool. We were able to grill many of our meals as they had nice weber grills by the pool. It was also nice rto have washer and dryers in all the units. Hopefully we will be able to return here many timesin the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I recently stayed at the maui schooner (nov 2011) by doing an exchange thru Interval International. I traded my week Marriott week for this. It is conveniently located in Kihei. It is an older property and it kind of shows. The check in was quick. The staff was helpful. They provided a map of the area and pointed me to Safeway (which is a few miles away). There are 2 buildings each being 4 stories. Building B has pool side view. Building A has a nice ocean view.

I stayed in a one bed room unit overlooking the ocean. The furniture, kitchen and bathroom are dated. They are supposedly updating the kitchen and bathroom. This will greatly improve the place. The kitchen is fully stock with practically everything you will need (toaster, blender, pots, pan, cheese slicer, wine opener, etc). The bathtub (if that is what they want to call it) is tiny. You can bath toddlers and infants in it. Anyone else, no soaking in the suds. It is maybe 3 feet long. They also provide beach chairs and cooler in the unit for your use. I thought was a good bonus.

There is only an air conditioner in the living/dinner room. The bedroom only has a ceiling fan. It can get quite warm in the bedroom. The living room opens to the lanai. So in the evening you can get nice breezes. Thus, it would have made more sense to put the air conditioner in the bedroom.

The grounds are nice. The pool is a little small but ok. The beach is a nice area. It is small and you can not swim there. It is nice to take walks and play in the water. It is very nice to sit on the beach or hill watching the sun set with a glass of wine. The resort is convenient to other parts of the island. Big beach is probably 15 min away. There are a few other beaches in between to swim.

Overall, it is nice but not comparative to my marriott property. The good thing is that when you in such a beautiful place as Maui, how much time do you really spend inside?

Room Tip: Ask for building A for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at the Maui Schooner in September 2011. We had 3 condos. Our stay was very nice. The resort is older, but very well kept. The staff was wonderful. They were friendly and took good care of our needs. The beach is a non swimming beach, but a really nice walking beach. Excellent swimming beaches are nearby. The resort was quiet and peaceful. It was a layed back atmosphere. Be careful of the front desk steering you to Safeway for groceries. She told us it was the cheapest place to shop......lol.......it was 3 times as expensive as the other stores. There is a grocery store nearby that was a lot less expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Address: 980 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Schooner Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.