We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but not luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Schooner Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Schooner Resort
980 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Convenient, but not luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Ocean front! Amenities are good, but lack any luxury. Not run down, but lacks finesse. Then again why did we come to Maui? Not for the accommodations, although it does matter. Good value when all the amenities, including the full sized washer and dryer are considered.
No maid service, so try to be tidy, or you'll feel awkward.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    49
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
38
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beachgirl1977
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Maui is exceptional... the Schooner is just OK. This was my first trip to Hawaii, & the other couple we went with booked the place since they got a deal. In general we had a good time but wish we would have had more time... didn't get to see all of Maui in the 8 days we were there and can't wait to go back!
Maui Schooner: Well worth it if cost is your #1 priority, but I'm a beach person first and foremost. If I were to do it again I'd stay in South Kihei, or Wailea near the spectacular beachs hands down. Polo beach in Wailea was my favorite, give it a try. They have lounge chairs there and everything. Maybe I'm spoiled on resorts but I want to wake up and walk down to the beach and have a lounge chair there and completely escape reality and everyday life when I'm on vacation. Packing up the car and driving to a decent beach everyday got old... real old, real quick! The pool was nice, clean & never crowded, and had a decent table and BBQ area. But the beach is too shallow to really swim it, paddleboarders get there useof it, hence the packing up to go to the beach everyday. If your a pool person and want to do maui on the cheap go for it. If you a beach person, buck up and spend the $$ to stay on the real maui beaches.
One thing we should have done more than once, we eat at Mama's fish house in Paia. AMAZING! YOU MUST GO! Pricey but really a special experience- well worth teh cost in service, atmosphere, and food!
Also don't believe the hype. Maui is not that expensive, if you do EVERYTHING at a resort, of course it is, but if your here your going to be eating at the Kihei local resatrants, and they aren't bad at all. ENJOY!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I traveled to Maui over the 4th. All I can say about Maui is that you must go.....it is an absolute must if you enjoy a laid back island life.

We stayed at the Maui Schooner as a timeshare exchange. Our unit had an ocean view and was very clean and spacious. The sunsets from our balcony were priceless. Maui truly is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

While the unit is dated, it was well maintained. There were 4 of us women; two had the bedroom and me and my friend had the sleeper sofa. The ladies in the bedroom woke up to the rooster and birds. The staff was gracious and Judy, the conceriege, was great. Parking in the lot was always a challenge. You could not ask for more perfect tropical foliage. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a water view, one bedroom and traveled with an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The property is manicured, on the ocean, and the people are spectacular... It is not very touristry which we love, but was well equipped, close to everything, and great pool. whirlpool. and grills.... It is class A with less costs and great close parking... Nothing but love for the Maui Schooner... Clean and equipped.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

It was a bit of a walk to a beach that wasn't worth the walk so we drove to a better location. The grills were very nice as was the fact that we had free beach chairs and a cooler. A nice king size bed. We were in unit B111 and the first floor has zero privacy on the lanai. There was no air conditioning in the bed room so we cracked up the air conditioning and aimed the floor fan into the bedroom. The ceiling fan over the bed had one speed and it was hurricane force wind.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We exchanged through Interval, and were very nervous when we read the negative reviews of this place. We thought that we were going to be trapped in a filthy dump for a week. I don't know where those people stayed, but it must have been a different Maui Schooner than where we just spent the last week. Where we stayed was fabulous.

The Maui Schooner is clean and pristine, with meticulously kept grounds, and one of the best-equipped kitchens I've ever seen in a timeshare (pizza pan and muffin tin!). Our room overlooked the pool, and, every day, the staff spent a lot of time cleaning and testing the pool and hot tub. Both were immaculate. Always.

The units are a bit small, but they don't feel cramped, and, again, are incredibly clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They also have beach chairs and a cooler in every unit, and keep mats and other beach items in the storage room for use. Most importantly, we were never hassled by timeshare come-ons.

The resort is located in quiet and quirky Kihei, close to the best beach (Big Beach), the best breakfast (Kihei Cafe), and the best shave ice (the stand next to Cafe O'Lei). It's also within easy shot of the best snorkel boat (Trilogy) in Lahaina. Don't forget the boiled peanuts at the Olowalu General Store!

Also, the beds were the first we've encountered that didn't kill our backs. We have a memory-foam bed, and are always scared to sleep on other beds. No worries with the Schooner's. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: Be polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Schooner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Schooner Resort

Address: 980 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Schooner Resort is a beach-front property with sprawling ocean views and charming Aloha hospitality. The resort boasts a tropical, Hawaiian resort atmosphere. Relax in your one, two or three bedroom suite, spacious enough for a couple on a romantic getaway or for the family. Unlike the typical hotel room, The Schooner's condominiums are equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay in Maui. Enjoy beach side tennis courts and a an expansive scenic stretch of Maui sand and surf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Schooner Hotel Kihei
Maui Schooner Kihei
Maui Schooner Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Schooner Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maui Schooner Resort to your Saves list