We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo A3 - A is for Awsome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Save
You added Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums to your Saves list
115 N Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Condo A3 - A is for Awsome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very clean and well maintained. We rented condo A3, a one bedroom, one bath newly redecorated island getaway. It was me, my husband and two boys ages 7 & 8. The boys slept on the pull out couch/bed (queen size) and hubby and I in the bedroom. Although small, the condo more than serves its purpose and is very homey. The condo was equipped with everything needed to make our stay comfortable. We bought our own food and prepared meals in the VERY well equipped kitchen and also did a lot of BBQ outside on the condo's beachfront patio by the pool. The complex also has laundry facilities but make sure you have plenty of quarters - $1.00 for wash and a $1.00 for dry. The front office manager is an angel! She is at your disposal with any requests and makes you feel right at home. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A-8 was by far the best location on the property. We walked out the slider to the pool and a few more steps we were on the beach. It was great to have a drink while looking at the ocean and sunset and when I needed a refresher I didn't have to travel far. We never had to worry about getting chairs or a table on the community patio because we always had our own. The bed was cozy but the sofa bed was typical, not so great but fine for my kids. The bathroom was newly remodeled and looked great but the design flaw caused flooding. There was no door or lip on the shower to catch the water and the slope of the floor went away from the drain. Too bad for such a beautiful looking shower and I am sure expensive remodel. The kitchen looked great and did its job. The ice maker worked well, it made enough for coolers and drinks. The spices, olive oil and a few other staples left by others were a BIG HELP. I was happy not to have to buy these types of things and was more than happy to share my left over TP and shampoo. The size of the unit was fine for our family of 4. But would not recommend it for 4 adults or older children. It was not huge and lacked storage space.

The property was clean and well kept. The BBQ area was nicely maintained. There were sand toys and boogie boards for community use. We actually left 3 boards there. We enjoyed that KS is a smaller complex and only two stories high. It felt more like a condo than an apartment. Everyone had easy access to the beach.

The privacy of North Kihei made our family happy. Sugar Beach was never overcrowded and the surrounding resorts were not huge. We swam with some turtles, did a little snorkeling, lots of boogie boarding, swimming and watching many others water activities right in our own back yard. This was a less commercial area of Kihei and we liked it. We enjoyed the walk each day for shave ice and the ABC store was easy. We bought some things at the gift store at the resort next door and ate at the "Sandwitch" shop, both nice.

Room Tip: We could hear our upstairs neighbors moving around quite a bit but would still pick a bottom floor u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksmgr, Manager at Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for enjoying a holiday vacation at Kihei Sands. It is a great special place to enjoy a vacation anytime of the year; quiet and family friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I missed not having maid service, for the price of the unit, I was unaware that you had to provide all your own paper towels & T.P. I wish I knew that a head of time, bring lots of quarters if you plan on doing laundry, 2.00 each load (wash & dry) will be 4.00! I may be use to hotel rooms, as far as daily rm. Service goes! I loved the fact that it was a quaint and friendly property, it is a nice location right on the beach! I will get a unit facing the water next time so I can enjoy the ocean view from the unit!!! I won't forget my T.P & quarters!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had the time of our lives in Maui and our accomodations at Kihei Sands were excellent. We stayed in A11 and the condo was extremely clean and had all the necessities we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the view from our lanai looking out to the ocean was spectatular (especially the sunsets). Thanks so much to the managers - especially Maureen for being such a sweetheart !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksmgr, Manager at Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. It is a pleasure to work and serve at Kihei Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Resort was just like it was advertised on the web site. A short walk from your room you are at the pool and a few more and you are on the beach. We stayed in unit B12. Unit was basic and clean but in need of some upgrades.
Our unit was advertised as air conditioned but the only A/C unit is on the top floor and provides very little cooling for the lower floor and none for the main floor bedroom. Upper loft area where the master bedroom is, is open to the main area windows. Lights from the Sugar Beach complex's stairwell shine through screens at night. Not good if you are sensitive to the light when sleeping. A/C unit was right above the bed and found it cold and loud, had to turn it to fan only at night. The ocean breezes come through the lanai doors and keep the main level cool, but the 2nd bedroom was excruciatingly hot without A/C.
The kitchen was dated and in need of a remodel. One of the reasons for booking a condo was being able to cook and the dated stove made this a challenge. The on-site BBQs got a great work out because of the stove.
Other family members travelling with us had remodelled condos with multiple A/C units and modernized kitchens which we would look for next time we visit.
The complex is meticulously cleaned and maintained by on-site management and they were friendly and helpful. They even lent us coolers for our day trip to Hana.
No snorkelling was nearby but the water in front of the complex remains shallow for a good distance from the shore and the bottom is sandy with no coral or rocks.
Enjoyed watching the canoe boat racing every morning with the complimentary coffee by the pool. Plenty of lounge chairs by the pool and beach towels in the room to use at the beach.
An ABC store and a small farmers market was within walking distance of the complex but a car is needed for grocery shopping (Safeway).
Thanks to Maureen and Paul for all the hard work they put in, to make the Kihei Sands such a wonderful resort to stay at. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room when booking. Buy groceries at Costco and Safeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Located on a beautiful Sandy beach called Sugar Beach. You can walk out your condo in the morning and jump right into the ocean. A lot of accommodations are on the beach but you can't swim there. The managers were friendly and helpful. Its a small complex so there are no crowds. Its also at the end of all the vacation condos, so it very peaceful. The condo wasn't fancy but i liked it that way...with traditional Hawaiian decor. I would stay there again in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days in a 2-bedroom unit upstairs. The unit was nice, clean, and had many extras. Beach towels, boogie boards, floaties, beach chairs and an umbrella in a closet which we could use. The beach was right and in front of us and what a beach!! Beautiful sandy beaches that we would walk every morning.
Quiet and peaceful side of the island, yet very close to Kihei. (We like being away from the big hotels that are crowded, loud, and have lots of extra fees).
The managers were wonderful. If you have any questions, ask them, they know it all. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The unit we stayed at was upstairs, on the right. Good AC, nice and quiet, and nice view from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

Address: 115 N Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beachfront condominium located 'Right in the Heart of Maui' where you can watch the sun rise over Haleakala, enjoy Maui's finest swimming beach, and have a front row seat in paradise to view our beautiful sunsets.From our oceanfront patio area and pool, you can practically touch the beach... clean, sandy, unpopulated ...stretching for miles in either direction. Kihei Sands opens to the calm waters of Maalaea Bay... breeding grounds for the humpback whale and a canvas for a fabulous sunset every night.Choose from our one bedroom/one bath condos and our two bedroom/two bath or three bedroom/two bath townhouse style condos.Each unit is individually decorated and has a fully furnished kitchen stocked with cookware, dishes & utensils. Units also include air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable television, VCR/DVD players, high-speed internet, linens and beach towels. Laundry facilities are available on site.Each unit has a lanai for you to enjoy right outside your living room. We also invite you to enjoy our oceanfront pool and patio area equipped with tables, chairs and lounge chaises. A few short steps from there and you will be enjoying the soothing ocean waters. Ocean... pool... lounging in the sun. All within a few steps of each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kihei Sands Beach Condominium Hotel Kihei
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.