We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trips to maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums
Save
You added Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums to your Saves list
115 N Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Family trips to maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

this was my family's 1st ever trip to Maui and it took us a while to book the place we want to stay because we have a 1 year old daughter so a kitchenette, tiled floors, central location, pool and beach were key pre-requisites..we searched about 12 locations and finally we stumbled upon kihea sands thru a suggestion from my wife's co-worker. to our surprise most of our pre-requisites were satisfied in our search but when we arrived, all the hard work paid off. it was like a home away from home. my wife got to lounge about and enjoy her day in our cozy living room, the pool was literally steps away and we took every chance to play with our daughter in the water.

The condo's are a bit dated but kept up and maintained well by Maureen and her Husband Paul the office managers. They were friendly and very helpful with information about kihea area.

We bbq'd a few times and we were only a 10-20 minute drive to lahaina/k'aanapali or wailea restaurants and shops! very convenient.

the beach was inviting and you can go for an early morning walk to the Farmer's market for fresh fruit or frolic in the ocean with a boogie board or snorkel.
The kitchenette was fully stocked and so we made breakfast, lunch and dinner throughout most of the trip. Parking is free as a guest of the Kihea sands and our neighbors were all families so you really feel comfortable.

if you have a young family or a family of any size, i suggest renting a condo at Kihea Sands to reduce all the stress out of your trip. Aloha and enjoy Maui.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    22
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We love the privacy and friendly atmosphere of this condo. The cost compares with any other beachfront rental in Kihei. I have stayed with a toddler, couples and ladies only. It works well for families-any or all. The building is getting older and parts have been redone, but not all. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. It is well stocked, clean and perfectly functional for a wonderful beach holiday experience. You are so close to the beach you can run back and forth all day if you like. There are always noodles, kids sand toys, styro boards to use and the outdoor pool and tanning area are spotless.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at Kihei Sands (Unit A6) for the month of February 2011. We rented directly from the very friendly, professional owner. The booking process was perfectly explained, understandable, and smooth. Not having ever been to Maui, I was full of apprehensions and questions which were completely answered, plus more, by the owner through email contact. The condo location is well situated near to just about anywhere you want to go. Though it sounds like it's too good to be true, the condo is seriously only steps from the ocean! It is awesome. We found the morning coffee and the evening social gatherings on the property patio to be our favorite as we met so many wonderful people! The beauty of this beach condo is stunning, breathtaking mountains, ocean, and sugar sand beach in one glance. You can drink your coffee and watch the wales and enjoy glorious sunsets. The condo itself is very clean and nicely decorated. Everything you need is there. We cooked a lot as we were tired of eating out from a previous trip, so we really appreciated this well-equipped, user friendly kitchen, as well as the use of the grills on the patio. We ate most of our meals on our own private patio. You just can't ask for more! Gina, the housekeeper and owner assistant is indeed a jewel in her personality and help. We loved her. It was beautiful and warm weather during our stay and we found it fantastic that the bedroom stayed so cool, day and night. The property has a beautiful breezeway area that allows the air to remain consistently cool through the bedroom window. It was very comfortable for sleeping. The bed was very comfortable and the linens fresh and clean, including the bedspread.....which is important to me.The pool was very well cared for and our free Internet service was the best. It is best to rent a car while in Maui because there is so much to see and do. We loved our stay in A6 and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilcene, Wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Better late than never to write a trip report about the Kihei Sands. My wife and I have staying at the Ksands on our trips to Maui ever since our Honeymoon in 1993. The property and condos have gone through a very nice refurb over the years. It's a small complex with about 28 units. Great location being on, (not by or near) one of Maui less crowded swimming beaches, Sugar Beach. Very easy to get on the road from here for your sightseeing and beach fun. The Ksands condos are a very good value on the island of Maui and tend to be rented by families or the older generation looking for this. Most of the units are managed by on site managers Paul and Maureen who are very nice and helpful. A few others are managed by the units individual owner. My wife and I decided to go with unit A-6 on our last trip which is one of the condos that is managed by it's owner. The unit is on the ground floor and just a few steps to the very nice common BBQ/Pool/Beach area. The unit was well appointed, clean and the owner helpful with all questions asked about it or Maui in general. No problems with the bed or noise as expressed by an earlier poster. We would return to A-6 in a heartbeat and most likely will on our next trip to "The Valley Island".

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed in unit A-6 and our stay there was sublime. We had mostly couples and a few families there and found the surroundings very serene. We were pleasantly surprised at how well equipped the condo was- we really had need for nothing, enjoying our morning coffee on the lanai was incredible every morning. We felt like new people by the end of our week there. We found the farmers fruit stand across the street the perfect addition to our Hawaiian experience with delicious fruits and local veggies, homemade dips and banana bread. The owner went out of her way to help us find Maui's gems with all the information we were given. I cant wait to stay there again
its so close to the ocean so we loved stepping out our front door and being right there!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We recently stayed at Kihei Sands in unit A6, this is a small complex of 30 or so units that run parallel separated by a pretty walkway with nice native and colorful plants. Our unit was a ground floor unit and really close to the pool and beach which was really nice. The pool area is clean and you can sit on a beach chair and listen to the waves the water is so close. We had a huge storm when we were there so I don’t know if he beach is always full of debris but it was hard to walk on and not good for swimming but it was really nice to be so close to the ocean.

Our unit was small and tidy, had some really nice art work and the kitchen was well stocked for cooking. The major problem for us was the age and quality of the bed, it is 9 years old (according to the tag) and well worn so we did not get restful sleep, we asked the owner in advance of our booking since we needed rest and she said it was hotel quality with a pillow top. It clearly is not. The other issue if you are looking for a quiet place is that you can hear everything that is said when people walk by because the windows in the bedroom are slats not a solid glass window and we heard everything at all hours especially from the partiers who returned at 2 and 3 in the morning several nights in a row. We could hear the showers and the air conditioners of all the other units, which made sitting on the patio unpleasant when the unit in front of this one had theirs running, it is just 3 feet away. It is not a quiet place if you are looking for that. But the location is really good for going out each day on day trips and getting around the island.

There is a little gem in the condos next door called Dina’s, a little sandwich/salad place, we ordered take out from there twice and it was so good! And they are really friendly too. We wouldn’t stay here again because of the noise but it is in a good location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We paid for 10 days to stay in a one bedroom condo on the ground floor of Kihei Sands Condo rentals. Positive points: live in managers are great and friendly. Beach is great and almost at your doorstep. Weather is outstandiing, lots of sunshine. Unit is clean and pots and pans are of good quality. Negative points: Very noisy. Lots of families visit here and they make tons of noise, This is a family oriented complex for famiiiies who are on a budget. Not suitable for mature adults whose kids are grown up and who love peace and quiet. Our bed was a queen sized bed, far too soft and far too olut dated. Needs to be replaced immediately. The lanai is cute and small but when the neightbour runs the air conditioning unit, all you hear is noise and it is unbearable to sit in the lanai and enjoy a peaceful dinner. You are better off eating in the common area or in the condo. The plumbing is noisy. You can hear your neighbour take a shower anytime. I was surprised to see guests smoking on the common area where everyone lounges. Thought there might be a no smoking policy in place as Kihei is a very dry area. Saw a mousei in the kitchen the other day not to mention saw a mouse on the outside common area the day before. One tea towel and 2 wine glasses only in the unit. Very minimal linen for the bed. Would we stay here again? NO! We recommend that you check out the upper condo units as they might be quieter and updated. Or you can shop around on Sugar Beach and undoubtedly you will find a concrete building with management that strictly enforces polices for the comfort and enjoyment of all deserving guests!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums

Address: 115 N Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beachfront condominium located 'Right in the Heart of Maui' where you can watch the sun rise over Haleakala, enjoy Maui's finest swimming beach, and have a front row seat in paradise to view our beautiful sunsets.From our oceanfront patio area and pool, you can practically touch the beach... clean, sandy, unpopulated ...stretching for miles in either direction. Kihei Sands opens to the calm waters of Maalaea Bay... breeding grounds for the humpback whale and a canvas for a fabulous sunset every night.Choose from our one bedroom/one bath condos and our two bedroom/two bath or three bedroom/two bath townhouse style condos.Each unit is individually decorated and has a fully furnished kitchen stocked with cookware, dishes & utensils. Units also include air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable television, VCR/DVD players, high-speed internet, linens and beach towels. Laundry facilities are available on site.Each unit has a lanai for you to enjoy right outside your living room. We also invite you to enjoy our oceanfront pool and patio area equipped with tables, chairs and lounge chaises. A few short steps from there and you will be enjoying the soothing ocean waters. Ocean... pool... lounging in the sun. All within a few steps of each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kihei Sands Beach Condominium Hotel Kihei
Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kihei Sands Beachfront Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.