We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shaved ice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Local Boy Snack Shop

Local Boy Snack Shop
1941 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 875-6731
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 138 Restaurants in Kihei
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks
Maui Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best shaved ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Best Shaved Ice... my grandchildren's favorite spot on Maui! Be sure and order the ice cream on the bottom... great combo!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Shave Ice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best shave ice ever!! Once we discovered Local Boy in Kihei we returned every day. Super fine ice and the extras are free :) Try the dreamsicle with vanilla ice cream and cream on top...its fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Without joining the debate on where the best Shave Ice served I highly recommend Local Boy Snack Shop. Staff are friendly and accomodating. Great assortment of flavors. Servings are about the same size and price as other vendors however many of the "extras" which other vendors charge for are free here including ice cream at the bottom of your cup and Kaui cream drizzled over the top. Can't wait to get back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best shave ice I had in Maui.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Delicious and more affordable than others. Mango ice cream was awesome and service was friendly. Didn't have to try another place after going here! You also get a buy one get one free at their other location if you present your receipt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mucho Grande Shave Ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Best shave ice I have ever had and my kids would attest to this as well.

A trip to Local Boys shave ice was a daily event for the week we were on Maui. We usually have a daily ice cream on such a trip but this shave ice won the day.

Some tips

* Baby size is more than enough IMHO
* Get ice cream on the bottom
* Get maui cream on top
* B sure to save your receipt so you can get one free next time
* It can sometimes be CRAZY busy so be flexible about your timing

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Boy Snack Shop also viewed

 

Been to Local Boy Snack Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Boy Snack Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.