We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shaved ice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Local Boy Snack Shop

Local Boy Snack Shop
1941 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 875-6731
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 162 Restaurants in Kihei
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Takeout
Maui Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best shaved ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Best Shaved Ice... my grandchildren's favorite spot on Maui! Be sure and order the ice cream on the bottom... great combo!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StargazerMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Shave Ice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best shave ice ever!! Once we discovered Local Boy in Kihei we returned every day. Super fine ice and the extras are free :) Try the dreamsicle with vanilla ice cream and cream on top...its fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank golformeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Without joining the debate on where the best Shave Ice served I highly recommend Local Boy Snack Shop. Staff are friendly and accomodating. Great assortment of flavors. Servings are about the same size and price as other vendors however many of the "extras" which other vendors charge for are free here including ice cream at the bottom of your cup and Kaui cream drizzled over the top. Can't wait to get back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CruisinSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best shave ice I had in Maui.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Delicious and more affordable than others. Mango ice cream was awesome and service was friendly. Didn't have to try another place after going here! You also get a buy one get one free at their other location if you present your receipt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tukonafullmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mucho Grande Shave Ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Best shave ice I have ever had and my kids would attest to this as well.

A trip to Local Boys shave ice was a daily event for the week we were on Maui. We usually have a daily ice cream on such a trip but this shave ice won the day.

Some tips

* Baby size is more than enough IMHO
* Get ice cream on the bottom
* Get maui cream on top
* B sure to save your receipt so you can get one free next time
* It can sometimes be CRAZY busy so be flexible about your timing

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LVToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Boy Snack Shop also viewed

 

Been to Local Boy Snack Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing