We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shave ice anytime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Local Boy Snack Shop

Local Boy Snack Shop
1941 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 875-6731
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 144 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great shave ice anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

These are huge so go with the small unless you plan to share or are really hungry. The guava was the best!! Lots of free extras but you must ask so ready the sign for info on ice cream and toppings offered! Park across street at the park and the enjoy your shave ice and a beautiful sunset. Perfect evening in Kihei. Very affordable $4,$5 and $6.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Shave Ice Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a must on the island. Get the macadamia nut ice cream on the bottom and sweet cream over the top. You will be eating a little piece of heaven.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“SO ONO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the BEST and only place to get shaved ice! I lived on Maui for awhile and NOWHERE else on the island can compare to their shaved ice! THIS IS A MUST!!!! Warning once you try you will go back everyday for another one!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor atmosphere right off the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great size, great flavor! I've had shaved ice at 2 other places this was the smoothest and largest proportioned place I've been to so far. I enjoy the sweet cream on top, so that would be my only complaint here, the cream wasn't as sweet or thick. All in all it was pretty good since Hawaiian shaved ice is my new addiction. I had the patriot coconutty, pineappley, pleasure!! If your here shopping, why not try one?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Shave Ice on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The service was wonderful. The portions were generous, and the flavor was amazing. I highly recommend getting a scoop of ice cream on the bottom.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Boy Snack Shop also viewed

 

Been to Local Boy Snack Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Boy Snack Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.