We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An memorable experience that will leave you wanting to do it again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Stables

Makena Stables
8299 Makena Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 879-0244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 109 Activities in Kihei
Type: Horseback riding, Outdoor Activities
Attraction details
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“An memorable experience that will leave you wanting to do it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Riding with Makena Stables was an incredible experience for my husband and me, who like to book horseback rides whenever we can on our travels! It was the only day of our Maui trip that was muggy, rainy weather, but it was still wonderful. They provided raincoats for us, so that was convenient. This won't be our last time riding with them, that's for sure!

Christine was our guide and there was only one other couple on our morning tour, and they were return customers of 15+ years --that says something for sure! Christine provided tons of history and interesting stories as we rode along the rocky coast of Makena, through dense forest teeming with black goats and historical significance, up the hillside with stellar views of Makena Beach and La Perouse Bay, and over rugged and rocky terrain that the horses handled with confidence. They only do one ride a day (either morning or sunset) that depends on the first tour requested. We did the morning tour and since it was a gloomy day, it added a sense of mystery. Christine was super friendly to get off her own horse to help us shoot some great memories with our own cameras too!

The drive getting to the stables was other-worldy (we were staying in Kihei, so it was not a long drive, but give yourself time since the road becomes narrow at some points and you won't want to drive at high speeds in some areas). I had never been that far south on Maui and it was just amazing to see the lava rock make up the hillside leading to the shore. I guess you'd expect that for an island formed by volcanic eruption, but my point is it's awesome scenery! The ride legally takes you through private property (as the website says), and so you get to see parts of the island that you can't see normally, unless you want to risk getting shot. haha.. just kidding... sort of...

As someone mentioned in a previous review, make sure you pack your snorkel gear and swim suits in the car before you head down, because if the weather and conditions permit, there are some good snorkel/beach spots in Makena.

I could write loads and loads more, but I'd take up too much room. If you have any questions, phone the stable as they're very helpful, informative and nice. I certainly don't mind sharing more details of my experience too if you want to contact me on TA.

P.S.--snacks are provided (chips, soda, water, granola bar) as there is a short break at the top of the mountainside to munch and take in the scenery.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ROCKS YOUR HORSEBACK NEEDS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went on a private sunset horseback ride at Makena Stables and it did not dissapoint!!! Booking the reservation was a breeze!! We were greeted with enthusiam and smiles by Chris and Lynn. Chris who was our guide evaluated us based on our experience riding and what we(he) felt our needs were. We were given instruction on how to properly ride and manage our horse and safety instructions to ensure a safe experience!! Off we went along the coastline through beautiful trees and sandy white beaches. We stopped at one beach and Chris used our camera and tooks pics of us with the beautiful coastline as our backdrop!! Along the trail Chris shared history of Maui and the area which was amazing!! He is very knowledgable and experienced, and puts you at ease! The trail leads from the coastline and up into the upcountry where you experience the most awesome sunset and spectacular view of La Perouse Bay!! The horses are well cared for and loved. We plan on returning again and again!!! When you go ask for Chris to be your guide he is an awesome guide and person!!!!! Your experience will be memorable.....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Makena Stable Sunset Tour - Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Took the sunset tour with my family of six on May 31. Christine was our guide. She and the trip were sensational. We've taken other horseback rides on the Islands and this was by far the best. Chris did a lot of gentle instruction, esp w my one daughter who is afraid of horses. The horses are beautiful and in wonderful shape ... these are people who truly love their horses. Lots of wild goats running the hills add to the fun. The evening views were spectacular and graced by God. Would do this trip again without question.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great trail ride/ Great tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Amazing views on horseback with a great trail guide in Christine!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sunset tour is a must-do when in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The title says it all, if you're in Mau and enjoy horseback riding the sunset tour at Makena stables is a must-do.

The ride starts out at ocean level near La Perouse Bay and heads uphill from there through the lava field to an old lava vent. The tour is on private property, so you get to see some sights that would normally be inaccessible. The tour guides are great and provide a lot of interesting history about the area; horses are well cared for and healthy.

The sunset view over the island of Kahoolawe is spectacular.

Bring your camera and comfortable shoes, they provide water and snacks for the ride.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makena Stables also viewed

 

Been to Makena Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.