We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but could really basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Lu Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Lu Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Maui Lu Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok, but could really basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

this resort has a motel style. no common space. in the middle of nowhere, so a car is definetly needed. pool could be better. staff is nice. no chance to buy something to eat, only vending machines to get snacks or drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experience at Maui Lu. I sincerely thank you for recognizing our Maui Lu staff. Yes, as noted, the Maui Lu is away from Kihei's crowded sector ... with open beachfront property on both sides of our three makai (ocean side) buildings ... a true positive for many of our guests. Of course, this bit of isolation from neighbors and noise allows one to actually hear the surf, trade winds, and rustling coconut palms - a Hawaii that is often less accesible. I do hope that you were able to experience this. We appreciate having you as guests at the Maui Lu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    206
    156
    93
    106
See reviews for
103
277
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I stayed in one of the beach rooms for a week and loved the location. Yes, it's an older hotel and the pictures don't reflect that it is dated. However, it was clean, comfortable and affordable. The staff could not have been better, they were always pleasant and helpful. We were traveling with my grandson (9 months old) and went out of their way to make it easier for us. The housekeepers were especially good and did whatever we requested. As far as noise, all we could hear were the waves outside our lanai. I would stay here again and plan to my next visit to maui.

Also the view was fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Aloha!

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at our Maui Lu. Thank you especially for complimenting our staff. We share all guest responses with our employees. They will appreciate being recognized!


Mahalo nui loa!

Michael Winchatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had to get a last minute room here as I had not booked enough nights at my previous accommodation. The cost was around $175 booked through their website. We booked a sea view room and paid a bit extra. The rooms were very dated and if you end up in the ground floor, all you can hear are the people in the room above.

We did have a nice view but the 1st floor will be better.

The rest of the complex didn't gave great facilities, and it's quite a way from the main strip.

Room Tip: Check on their website for discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for being our guest. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment. While the Maui Lu is away from the Kihei business center, our location is often noted as a benefit by visitors - the beach side property being bordered by a park on the south side and an open stretch of ocean and sandy beach on the west side.

Again, thank you for being our guest. We share all guest responses with staff and view each response as an opportunity to improve.


Michael Winchatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

What a let down!
Don't be fooled by the pictures online, these were clearly taken 20 years ago.
Wifi connection was pathetic, Pool was full of dirt & bark from the coconut trees, the furniture is all outdated and bathrooms barely comfortable. Although the large king size beds were just OK to sleep in & the private beach cove over the road was a good spot to watch the sunset, We definitely do NOT recommend this accommodation, as we contemplated leaving before we even stayed the first night. Better off paying a little extra for somewhere more liveable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Aloha and thank you for being our Maui Lu guest. I apologize for your dissappointment. I am sorry that we were unable to meet and speak during your stay, I would have wanted to assist you further in meeting expectations or assisting with alternate accommodations. Aston has a variety of properties on Maui, some with unique characteristics such as our Maui Lu. While we receive many very positive comments, I understand that our product is not definitive of your more modern accommodation. I am truly sorry for your disappointment. Please know that I would have welcomed the opportunity to assist you further during your stay.

Michael Winchatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay an extra day in Maui while still on a budget. I used one of the travel websites to find this hotel and ended up booking directly through hotel website because I got a better deal.
We had to check out of our condo at 11 and arrived at Maui Lu at around 1200 to see if we could get an early check in and it was available. We were offered an up graded room for only $10 a night more. We took the upgrade because the upgraded rooms were on the ocean side if the road and seemed like a good deal.
When we got to the room we were definitely disappointed.
Room was not very clean and just plain run down. There were ants all over the night stand and we saw a few roaches throughout our time in the room. Seems like they don't spray for bugs at all.
The view from the room was beautiful and I did like the fridge in the room to keep my vodka chilled.
The overall condition of the property is run down. Seems like at one time it was a beautiful property.
The pool was even a disappointment. There was someone cleaning it, and it was still dirty.
If you're on a tight budget, I still wouldn't recommend staying here.
The staff however was very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for spending your additional day on Maui at our Maui Lu!

I apologize for your disappointment. As interim general manager, I recognized the inadequancy of service from the property's previous pest control contractor. That vendor has been replaced, resulting in our current targeted approach to any insect occurrences. I also apologize for your experience at our pool. Two recent occurrences may have contributed to your disappointment. We were trimming over 500 of the property's coconut palm trees during your visit, many of which are in the pool vicinity. Wind blown debris became a problem. Additionally, burning of sugar cane fields brought undesirable ash in our direction. Thank you for your understanding.

I very much appreciate your compliment of Maui Lu staff. We share all comments with our team members. Your recognition of their commitment to the guest experience will surely be welcomed.

Michael Winchatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great location, great rooms, excellent staff. The staff at the Aston Maui Lu are so nice and helpful. The staff I cannot say enough about. They helped us out by giving us recommendations to restaurants with directions which I must say were really great restaurants. Our room was always clean when we came back from our excursions. The tvs need to be updated, and a strong need for a microwave in room is needed.They have a microwave onsite but it would be more convenient to have it inroom. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. You can tell the staff take pride in their work. They will accommodate in any way they can. When we come back to Maui we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask the staff at the front desk, they will help choose a room suitable for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Maui Lu! We especially appreciate your acknowledgement of our staff commitment to guests. We share all guest comments with team members. Maui Lu has many long tenured employees whose dedication to each guest's experience ais recognized by management as our greatest asset. Again, mahalo nui loa!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice location, but not much beach in front of hotel, need to walk 100m or so to get to decent beach! Turtles everywhere! Good for scuba diving - loved how they teach diving to beginners in the pool! Restaurant average but nice staff, if you get a table at Dukes restaurant near the hotel it's well worth it!! Room was quite dated- needs a few touch ups! Wifi could be better but did the job. Reception staff very nice! Great Concierge! Great hotel for families! Love how you can hire dvd's free of charge! All in all a very nice stay! Little things to improve on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Aloha!

Thank you for choosing Maui for your Hawaii respite. Were you, perhaps, at one of Aston's Kaanapali properties? Dukes Restaurant is in the Kaanapali west side of Maui. Our Maui Lu is in the Kihei south side of the island. Again, mahalo from the Valley Isle!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Aston Maui Lu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Lu Resort

Address: 575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Maui Lu Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Maui's best beachfront value. Guests can stroll Maui's oldest coconut grove on the hotel's 28 lush acres. This property's rustic feel and secluded beach coves (not to mention a pool in the shape of Maui) add up to a charming experience and a great vacation value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Maui Lu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Lu Hotel Kihei
Maui Lu Resort
Aston Kihei
Aston Lu Maui
Aston Maui Lu Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Lu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.