We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here - 10 years apart” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Lu Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Lu Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Maui Lu Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second time here - 10 years apart”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We found the Aston Maui Lu ten years ago while staying in the Aston chain on three islands. We could not wait to return regardless of the ratings here on Trip Advisor.

The Maui Lu is quite dated and needs major upgrading but it is one of the few places we found in Hawaii you can walk 30 to 40 feet and be on the beach and in the ocean!  Love it!

Although when staying in the 400, 500 or 600 unit buildings on the ocean side, parking can be a problem and even if you have to park across the street, you will not be walking what seems to be miles as compared to other hotels in Hawaii, particularly in Kaanapali where we stayed the first time in Maui 20 years ago.

Listening to the ocean whenever we were in the room was amazing! We left the door open when we went to bed to have the ocean lull us to sleep!

The staff we encountered was always cheerful and pleasant.

We like the fact that it is out of the main area of town, away from the hustle & bustle and crowds.

Ten years ago, we had no complaints about the Maui Lu. Unfortunately, we cannot say that this time. We were not aware of the amenity fee of $15 a day covering items (daily newspaper, safe key, etc.) which used to be free and were hardly used . You pay whether you want it or not.

The gorillas who moved in on the second floor our second day were so annoying, waking us out of a sound sleep two mornings in a row before 7 a.m. and being loud after 10 p.m., had us complaining to the management. We were there six nights and we think they were there 5.

There are no food services on site but we didn’t go to Hawaii to stay in a resort. There is too much to see and do!

The laundry room with 3 washers and 3 dryers was disgustingly filthy, one washer was broken and getting there at night was difficult without a flash light with very little outside lighting. The wifi was always losing signal.

We wonder if we would stay here again until it is upgraded and improvements are made.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for returning to our Maui Lu. Your thoughts are appreciated - most importantly, they are resulting in change. As one important example, the guest laundry has become the focus of my attention. Our Kihei area experienced a rather rainy period, adding to the challenges of maintaining the area. Solutions were needed and are being implented. On another matter, I apologize for the noisy guests ... such behavior is especially annoying as the quietude of the Maui Lu is truly one of our most desired attributes. I have instructed our security team to be more attentive to such occurrences and to take proactive steps on other guests' behalf.

Again, thank you for taking time to share your experiences. Please know that your comments are truly contributing to our Maui Lu improvement process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    201
    155
    91
    105
See reviews for
104
277
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omro, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We picked this hotel because of the low price, which is always a gamble, and this one paid off! We got a deluxe ocean view room. It was literally 20 feet from the ocean. We fell asleep and woke to the sound of the waves. That was PRICELESS!!! The rooms are getting old, things are not perfect, but the service was great! The beds were very comfortable! The view was unbeatable! The location was perfect. The sunsets will stay with me forever!!!! Really would hate to see this place fall into disrepair. It's getting close! I hope they keep up with it. Stay here & know it may not be perfect in all ways, but it was SO worth every penny and more!!!!!!!!!!!!! If your the kind of person who is picky about everything, don't stay here. Leave it for real people who will appreciate all it 'does' offer!

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe ocean view room, it is DEFINITELY worth the extra money, if it wasn't for one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much being our guests. Of special importance, our Maui Lu leadership team is focused on implementing immediately achievable improvements which collectively add value to each guest's stay. Your very supportive comments are guiding us forward.

Aloha nui loa!


Michael Winchatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondovi, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you have very low expectations, stay here. We were very misled by the pictures on the Maui Lu website. Looks like a pretty nice and up-to-date place to stay. By no means is it up to date.

The room (room 205) needs ALOT of maintenance and updates. Since I reserved this room based off of the pictures on your website, I was VERY unhappy. The room was dark, the lighting was from the 80s. The carpeting was peeling up in the corners and very dirty. The paint was peeling. The window vents would not close properly. And even though it is a NON-Smoking hotel, we could smell smoke in our room and throughout the night as we slept. The bath room shower/tub was disgusting. It was stained and needed a good deep cleaning. The showerhead could literaly be pulled out of the wall. The building has shifted so much that the bathroom door would not close or open unless you slammed it and pulled very hard to open. Felt like you could break the door. The pillows and towels could definitely be replaced.
The TV was from the 80s and is in desperate need of updating.

Overall our experience was horrible. What we saw on the Asto Maui Lu's website was not what we experienced. When we talked to the Front desk lady and expressed our disapproval, she told us that the ads were showing the Ocean view rooms only and it did not show the other rooms which were garden view. She really did not want to listen to us even though we were just kindly speaking with her. Sounded like she had heard these kinds of comments before and it was out of her power to help us. She did say she would let the general manager know. In my opinion, whether I am staying for 1 night or 7 nights, ALL rooms should be modern, functional and up-to-date. The false advertising for the Maui Lu is very disappointing.

Since this is an Aston property, I expected modern, up-to-date and clean. We stayed the earlier part of the week and the Astom Maui Banyon and that place was wonderful. Clean and up-to-date. The Maui Lu has ALOT of maintenance and updates to do on this place. We have stayed at other hotels that were much cheaper and were in a lot better condition.

Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Stay ocean side. Evidently these are the rooms that have been somewhat updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for being our Maui Lu guest. Your comments are appreciated. Indeed, your thoughts are actually welcomed. I apologize for having disappointed you. I do wish that we could have spoken during your visit. I would have committed to seeking a solution to your concerns.

As the interim general manager at the property, I am personally inspecting each unit with our maintenance manager and executive housekeeper. We are implementing product quality and maintenance projects. The incoming general manager and Maui Lu's long-serving staff have committed to furthering this process. Areas of concern, as provided by you, take us directly to the core of these requirements.Your experience is also being shared with our staff - a integral part of this improvement program.

While I cannot change your past experience, please be assured that you are having a direct and positive impact on our Maui Lu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We read the reviews before we left, and simply put... can't agree with anything negative about this place. If you are the type of traveler that want to relax and not feel the need to be pretentious, then the Maui Lu is right for you. Everyone we met were very pleasant and extremely helpful. Grounds are incredible too, and everything else is within a short walk/Drive. Could go on and on, miss the place already.

Room Tip: Building 400 is the unit with all of the ocean front rooms, we were lucky to stay in 175... bottom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your very supportive comments of our Maui Lu! I especially appreciate your acknowledgement of our people. We shall share your words with all team members! Aloha nui loa!
Michael Winchatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights, the grounds have been kept very well and are lovely but unfortunately the rooms just don't match up. They feel unloved and in need of renovation. The staff were helpful and the pool was ok, they also have some rooms with direct access to the beach.

The location was fine, Kihei is a good place to stay in Maui but we didn't have a car and access to local shops/ restaurants and attractions are best accessed by road, its not really designed for pedestrians.
Its slightly on the cheaper side for hotels in Maui, but you do get what you pay for but I still don't think it was great value.

Room Tip: Ask for direct beach access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for being our Maui Lu guest. Your comments are truly welcomed. I appreciate your having highlighted the Maui Lu grounds. I especially appreciate your recognizing the staff - many of whom are career employees. In valuing their importance, we always share our guest comments with them.

As an interim general manager at the property, I have worked side by side with the property leadership team to identify and implement several product improvement programs. The incoming general manager has already committed to furthering these enhancements which will imrove the product value.

Aloha nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked this hotel property as it was the closest to the airport for a reasonable price.(by Maui standards!). Our flight from Denver was arriving late in the day and we just needed a place for one night to recover from the jet lag.
We booked a room in the ocean front view building across the road from the check-in office.
The Good- the room had a nice view of the beach and you could easily hear the waves crashing on the beach. You had access to a nice swim beach right on the property. The hotel staff was friendly.
The Bad- the buildings and room were very old and tired in serious need of renovation. We had a wall mount window style air conditioner that was very noisy. We were on the first floor and the walls were paper thin. You could hear the other guests easily. The folks in the room above us woke us up at 5:00 am walking back and forth across the floor. Another guest decided to call the mainland on his cell phone from his balcony at 5:30 am and was easily heard.
Parking was a nightmare. Very small parking slots usually full. You had to go across the main Kehai highway to an auxillary parking lot. Walking across the main road was hazardous and the walking path at night was very difficult to see.
We would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the ocean front buildings on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Mahalo for choosing the Maui Lu. I appreciate your positive recognition of the location, the view, and most definitely the swimming beach on property. Understanding that your stay was for a single evening, I am sorry that we were not able to react to the noise intrusions. While the sound of waves crashing on the beach is a true delight, I realize that the sounds of other guests or an air conditioner are far less so. Please accept my apology. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Texas, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place is unbelievable!! Talk about ocean front! .. the water and private beach were 20 ft. from our room. Lulled to sleep each night by the sound of waves on the shore. We stayed in room 404, it was so nice. Room was quite large with a super comfortable king bed. Big patio door with lovely sheers as well as room darkening blinds (which we really did not use), and a view to take your breath away. Grounds were beautiful and quiet, it just felt so Hawaiian!! We already decided that we would like to come back ever year and get the same room. Staff is lovely, housekeeping is great, our concierge, Shakka steered us in the right direction for all our outings, and with great discounts. As I sit here writing this a tear comes to my eye as I recall the sound of the waves and our wonderful stay at the Maui Lu. Thank you for a most wonderful vacation!!

Room Tip: There are 2 levels in the building facing the ocean. We chose the ground level to be able to just wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Aston Maui Lu Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Mahalo!

We hear these words so often, but it is ever so much more exciting to see them in writing.

Aloha nui loa from Maui Lu staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Maui Lu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Lu Resort

Address: 575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Maui Lu Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Maui's best beachfront value. Guests can stroll Maui's oldest coconut grove on the hotel's 28 lush acres. This property's rustic feel and secluded beach coves (not to mention a pool in the shape of Maui) add up to a charming experience and a great vacation value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Maui Lu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Lu Hotel Kihei
Maui Lu Resort
Aston Kihei
Aston Lu Maui
Aston Maui Lu Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Lu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.